Editions: Editions Tintamarre / Cahiers du Tintamarre
 
new works
about us contact
to order
books

> en français

Histoire des Comités de Vigilance aux Attakapas. Alexandre Barde. Text edited by Mary Greenwood.

ISBN: 978-09793230-2-7. $19.50

To order this book, contact the bookstore of Centenary College:

by email at: bookstor@centenary.edu
by telephone at (318) 869-5278,
or by fax at(318) 869-5295

or buy this book at:

Histoire des Comités de Vigilance aux Attakapas. Alexandre Barde. Text edited by Mary Greenwood.

     1859. The Attakapas District of Louisiana. With the crisis of Secession looming only a few months in the future, a group citizens composed of planters, cattlemen, and merchants, formed numerous militias known as “Vigilante Committees.” Their mission was to strike down the raging criminal activity and suspect morality of those who lived on the margins of society. Their methods: banishment, the whip, and, when needed, hanging.
    The resulting prairie fire swept across the Attakapas, sweeping up in its wake more than 4,000 Creoles and Cadiens determined to crush those deemed undesirable so that the region could be returned to the control of “honest people.”
While nothing could shake their belief in the integrity of Lynch laws, Louisiana’s vigilantes were fully aware that their methods were unlawful. Although they clothed their Comités with all the trappings that could bestow legitimacy to them—constitutions, by-laws, written procedures to be followed—none of this was sufficient. They needed a champion, a defender, a bard who could ennoble the concept of popular justice. It was this atmosphere that gave birth to a book that drew the hate and scorn of the children and grandchildren of those Barde names in his Histoire des Comités de Vigilance aux Attakapas.
    This work offers a troubling and stirring account of the events that rocked 1859. And yet, it conceals a story as moving as the history revealed within its pages: this is also the epic tale of a young Frenchman who arrived in a new nation in his most vibrant youth, who had abandoned his dreams of literary glory to discover his own exile in the American wilderness, and who threw himself into the remarkably romantic enterprise, suggested by the vigilante chief, Sarrazin Broussard, to “make this a good story.”

Clint BRUCE.

Editions: Editions Tintamarre / Cahiers du Tintamarre
 
nouveautÚs

historique
contact
commande
livres

> in english

Histoire des Comités de Vigilance aux Attakapas. Alexandre Barde. Texte établi par Mary Greenwood.

ISBN: 978-09793230-2-7. $19.50

Pour commander ce texte, contactez la librairie de Centenary College :

Par courriel : bookstor@centenary.edu
Par téléphone : 318-869-5278
Par fax : 318-869-5295

ou commandez-le à :

 

Histoire des Comités de Vigilance aux Attakapas. Alexandre Barde. Texte établi par Mary Greenwood.

    1859. District des Attakapas, Louisiane. À quelques mois de la crise de la Sécession, plusieurs citoyens – planteurs, éleveurs de bétail et commerçants – se constituent en milices populaires, appelées « comités de vigilance ». Leur mission : sévir contre une criminalité galopante et les mœurs douteuses de quelques marginaux. Leur méthode : le bannissement, fouet et potence à l’appui.
C’est un véritable feu de prairie. En peu de temps, jusqu’à 4 000 Créoles et Cadiens du sud-ouest de la Louisiane épousent la cause de la vigilance afin d’évincer « la pègre » et restituer le pays aux « honnêtes gens ».
Alors que rien n’ébranle leur foi dans la loi de Lynch, les vigilants savent leurs procédés extra-juridiques critiquables à plus d’un égard. Ils se dotent de tous les signes de la légitimité organisationnelle : constitution, règlements intérieurs, hiérarchie, et cetera. Ça ne suffit pas. Ils ont besoin d’un défenseur, d’un apologiste, voire plus : d’un barde qui puisse chanter l’épopée de la justice populaire. Ainsi naît un livre longtemps haï et honni par les enfants et petits-enfants de ceux qui s’y trouvent pointés du doigt, L’Histoire des Comités de Vigilance aux Attakapas d’Alexandre Barde.
    Sous la plume habile et tonitruante de son auteur, L’Histoire des Comités propose un récit mouvementé des troubles de 1859. Mais l’œuvre renferme plus qu’elle ne veut déceler, car cette histoire est aussi celle de celui qui l’écrit : d’un Français venu en Amérique dans la fleur de sa jeunesse qui, après avoir abandonné ses rêves de gloire littéraire pour s’exiler à la campagne, se lance tout entier dans une entreprise rien de moins que romanesque, dans l’esprit du mot d’ordre que lui intime un chef vigilant, Sarrazin Broussard : « Faites-nous une bonne histoire ».

Clint BRUCE.