CO 153: Learning Through Community

The COMMUNITY-credit Course, CO 153: Learning Through Community, serves as one of the four ways in which students can successfully complete their Service-Learning graduation requirement. The course is graded Pass/Fail and carries one credit hour.

Class Location

  • Section A
    • Class Meeting Day: Tuesdays (unless otherwise noted on the class schedule below)
    • Class Location: The 2910 Building
    • Office Hours: 11am - Noon on Wednesdays
  • Section B
    • Class Meeting Day: Wednesdays (unless otherwise noted on the class schedule below)
    • Class Location: The 2910 Building
    • Office Hours: 10am - 11am on Tuesdays

Course Syllabus

Reading Assignments

  • Levinson, David. T. (2010). Everyone Helps, Everyone Wins New York: The Penguin Group.
  • Additional readings may be given to students in class depending on the topic being discussed.

Out of Class Reflection Assignments

  • Please check the schedule below to learn about what has been assigned to be completed each week.
  • Electronic submissions will NOT be accepted unless otherwise instructed.

Final Presentation Guidelines

Spring 2015 Class Schedule

**Schedule subject to change per further instructions by Course Instructor.**

Week 1 - "Introduction of the Course/Course Expectations"
Section A: Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Section B: Wednesday, January 14, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:
    • Read the Introduction and Chapters 1, 2, and 3 out of your book.
    • Choose the Community Partner that you plan to serve with this semester.

CONNECT

Week 2 - "Why?"
Section A: Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Section B: Wednesday, January 21, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:
    • Read Chapter 4 - 8 out of your book.
    • Contact your Community Partners to set up your schedule for service this semester.

Week 3 - "Assessing and Preparing for the Experience"
Section A: Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Section B: Wednesday, January 28, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:
    • Complete both Pre-Project Forms filled out based on your Community Partner selection for this semester
    • Read Article "Civic Minded Success Stories" (PDF)
    • Read Chapter 9, 17, and 18 out of the book.

Week 4 -
Section A: Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Section B: Wednesday, February 4, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:

Week 5 -
Section A: Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Section B: Wednesday, February 11, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:

COMMIT

Week 6 - OFF WEEK (Mardi Gras)
Section A: No Class
Section B: NO Class

  • Homework Due Next Class:

Week 7 -
Section A: Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Section B: Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Week 8 -
Section A: Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Section B: Wednesday, March 4, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:

Week 9 -
Section A: Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Section B: Wednesday, March 11, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:

LEAD

Week 10 -
Section A: Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Section B: Wednesday, March 18, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:

Week 11 -
Section A: Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Section B: Wednesday, March 25, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:

Week 12 - Off Week (Spring Break)
Section A: Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Section B: Wednesday, April 1, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:

Week 13 -
Section A: Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Section B: Wednesday, April 8, 2015

GROW

Week 14 - Final Presentation Week
Section B: Monday, April 13, 2015
Section A: Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Section B: Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Section A: Thursday, April 16, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:

Week 15 (Prep Week) - Final Presentation Week
Section B: Monday, April 20, 2015
Section A: Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Section B: Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Section A: Thursday, April 23, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:

Week 16 (Finals Week)
Section A: No class as long as all final presentations are complete
Section B: No class as long as all final presentations are complete

  • Homework Due This Week:
    • Turn in any remaining assignments and paperwork

IMPORTANT:

If at any time in the semester a student needs help or is unsure about class expectations or information please notify the course instructor immediately. Also, if a student is having trouble with their community partner experience please let the staff of the Office of Global Engagement know as soon as possible. We are here to support our students and ensure that they receive a positive experience whenever possible. Without effort and communication there can be no solution.

Share |