Office of Global Engagement

CO 153: Learning Through Community

The COMMUNITY-credit Course, CO 153: Learning Through Community, serves as one of the four ways in which students can successfully complete their Service-Learning graduation requirement. The course is graded Pass/Fail and carries one credit hour.

Class Location

  • Section A
    • Class Meeting Day: Wednesdays (unless otherwise noted on the class schedule below)
    • Class Location: The 2910 Building
    • Office Hours: 11am - Noon on Wednesdays
  • Section B
    • Class Meeting Day: Tuesdays (unless otherwise noted on the class schedule below)
    • Class Location: The 2910 Building
    • Office Hours: 10am - 11am on Tuesdays

Course Syllabus

Reading Assignments

  • Levinson, David. T. (2010). Everyone Helps, Everyone Wins New York: The Penguin Group.
  • Additional readings may be given to students in class depending on the topic being discussed.

Out of Class Reflection Assignments

  • Please check the schedule below to learn about what has been assigned to be completed each week.
  • Electronic submissions will NOT be accepted unless otherwise instructed.

Final Presentation Guidelines

  • Please review the final presentation guidelines document below to know what to expect for your final presentation assignment.
  • The final presentation will serve as your final for the class.
    • Fall 2015 The Final Presentation Guidelines document (pdf)

Fall 2015 Class Schedule

**Schedule subject to change per further instructions by Course Instructor.**

CONNECT

Week 1 - Introduction to the Course and Course Expectations
Section A: Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Section B: Tuesday, September 1, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:
    • Review the Community Partner Roster and identify a Community Partner to work with this semester
    • Read the 1st 3 chapters in Everyone Helps, Everyone Wins

Week 2 - Why serve?
Section A: Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Section B: Tuesday, September 8, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:

Week 3 -
Section A: Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Section B: Tuesday, September 15, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:

Week 4 -
Section A: Wednesday September 23, 2015
Section B: Tuesday, September 22, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:
    • Write: Leadership Theme Reflection

COMMIT

Week 5 -
Section A: Wednesday, September 30 2015
Section B: Tuesday, September 29, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:

Week 6 -
Section A: Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Section B: Tuesday, October 6, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:
    • Write: Community Leader Reflection

Week 7 -
Section A: Monday, October 12, 2015
Section B: Tuesday, October 13, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:

Week 8 -
Section A: Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Section B: Tuesday, October 20, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:
    • Write: Leadership Theme Reflection

LEAD

Week 9 -
Section A: Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Section B: Tuesday, October 27, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:

Week 10 -
Section A: Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Section B: Tuesday, November 3, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:
    • Community Leader Reflection

Week 11 -
Section A: Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Section B: Tuesday, November 10, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:

Week 12 -
Section A: Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Section B: Tuesday, November 17, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:
    • Write: Leadership Theme Reflection
    • Write: Community Leader Reflection

GROW

Week 13 - Thanksgiving Break
Section A: No Class
Section B: No Class

  • Homework Due Next Class:

Week 14 - Final Presentations
Section A: Monday, November 30, 2015
Section A: Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Section B: Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Section B: Thursday, December 3, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:
    • Write: Leadership Theme Reflection

Week 15 -
Section A: Monday, December 7, 2015
Section A: Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Section B: Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Section B: Thursday, December 10, 2015

  • Homework Due Next Class:

Week 16 - Finals Week
Section A: No Class
Section B: No Class

  • Homework Due This Week:
    • All remaining assignments not already turned in on time.

IMPORTANT:

If at any time in the semester a student needs help or is unsure about class expectations or information please notify the course instructor immediately. Also, if a student is having trouble with their community partner experience please let the staff of the Office of Global Engagement know as soon as possible. We are here to support our students and ensure that they receive a positive experience whenever possible. Without effort and communication there can be no solution.