Accessing eResources Remotely

Access to licensed library research materials (eResources) requires a special usernname/password combination.

To learn that username/password combination, login here, or call 318-869-5047.

For step-by-step instructions on how to obtain the login credentials for licensed eResources, see this IT FAQ entry.

Subject Guide: Music — Voice

To search the entire collection of print and electronic resources, go to e-Library.

Books in Print | Periodicals | Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. | Subscription Databases | E-Journals | E-Books | Professional Associations | Other Online Resources

Books in Print: LC Call Numbers in Stacks

Location In Stacks

Range | Subject
M1495 - M2199 | Vocal Music
M1497 - M1998 | Secular Vocal Music
M1500 - M1527 | Dramatic Music
M1530 - M1610 | Choral Music, Part Songs, Etc.
M1611 - M1626 | Songs for One Voice
M1627 - M1985 | Songs (Parts and Solo)
M1627 - M1853 | National Music
M1999 - M2199 | Sacred Vocal Music
M2000 - M2017 | Oratorios, Masses, Service, Etc
M2018 - M2101 | Cantatas, Anthems, Part Songs
M2102 - M2114 | Songs for One Voice
M2115 - M2146 | Hymn, Psalm, and Choral Books
M2147 - M2188 | Liturgy and Ritual
M2198 - M2199 | Temperance, Revival, Rescue, and Gospel Songs

Periodicals: DDCS Call Numbers

Location | Title
780.5 Am35m | Journal of the American Musicological Society: 1948 to date
780.5 J82m | Journal of Music Theory: 1957-2000
780.5 97j | Music Journal: 1969-1977
780.5 M97q | Musical Quarterly: 1959-2001
780.5 M97r | Musical Review: 1967-1994; (Microfilm 1940-1962)
780.5 M973n | Music Library Association Notes: 1943 to 2001
780.5 N213b | NATS Bulletin: 1960-1985; NATS Journal: 1985-1996
780.5 P43 | Perspectives of New Music: 1962-1977; 2004 to date
780.9034 N622 | Nineteenth-Century Music: 1977 to 2001
782.05 Op2 | Opera News:1945 to date

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online • http://www.search.eb.com

Literati • http://literati.credoreference.com

Subscription Databases

Complete list of subscription databaseshttp://www.centenary.edu/library/research/databaseindex

Academic Search Complete • http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=web&defaultdb=a9h

Ingenta • http://www.ingentaconnect.com/search/advanced

JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, and III Interdisciplinary Collections • http://www.jstor.org/search/

Music Quarterly • http://mq.oxfordjournals.org/

OCLC FirstSearch • http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/dbname=WilsonSelectPlus;autho=100159676;FSIP/

WorldCat • http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/dbname=WorldCat;FSIP%20

E-Journals

Complete list of subscription e-journalshttp://www.centenary.edu/library/research/ejournals

Other suggested e-journals and e-journal collections:

Electronic Full Text Journals (Search "Music") • http://atoz.ebsco.com.centenary.idm.oclc.org/Titles/3423?lang=en&lang.menu=en&lang.subject=en

Directory of Open Access Journalshttp://www.doaj.org/home

E-Books

Complete list of subscription e-bookshttp://www.centenary.edu/library/research/ebooks

Other suggested e-books and e-book collections:

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)http://www.doabooks.org/

Hathi Trust Digital Libraryhttp://www.hathitrust.org/

Internet Archivehttp://archive.org/details/texts

National Academy Presshttp://www.nap.edu/

Online Books Pagehttp://digital.library.upenn.edu/books/

Professional Associations

American Choral Directorsí Association • http://acda.org/

Choristersí Guild • http://www.choristersguild.org

National Association of Teachers of Singing • http://www.nats.org

Other Suggested Online Music Resources

Aria Database • http://www.aria-database.com

Choral Net • http://choralnet.org

Choral Public Domain Library • http://www.cpdl.org/wiki/index.php/Main_Page

Christian Classics Ethereal Library • http://www.ccel.org

Classical Archives • http://www.classicalarchives.com

Cyber Hymnal • http://www.cyberhymnal.org/

Diction Domain • http://www.dictiondomain.com/cgi-bin/dd/dd_display.pl?action=show&sp=welcome

Electric Hymnal • http://www.ehymnal.com

Lied and Art Song Texts Page • http://www.recmusic.org/lieder/

Lutheran Hymnal • http://www.lutheran-hymnal.com

Musica • http://musicanet.org

Schubertline • http://www.schubertline.co.uk/home.htm

World Wide Internet Resources • http://library.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/