If you can read this message, your browser likely does not support web standards. Though you will be able to use this site, you will not see the site as intended.

Subject Guide: World History

To search the entire collection of print and electronic resources, go to e-Library.

Books in Print | Periodicals |Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. | Subscription Databases | E-Journals | E-Books | Professional Associations | Other Online Resources

Books in Print: LC Call Numbers in Stacks

Range | Subject
D204 - D849 | Modern History
E501 - E680 | World War I
E731 - E838 | World War II
E901 - E1075 | Europe

Periodicals: DDCS Call Numbers

Location | Title
905 H629 | The Historian: A Journal of History: 1947-1953; 1965 to date
943.0005 C333 | Central European History: 1978-2001
950.05 As42 | Asian Survey : 1964-2002
950.05 J825 | Journal of Asian Studies: 1959-1998
914.7 So89 | Russian Life: 1996 to date

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online • http://www.search.eb.com

Literati • http://literati.credoreference.com

Subscription Databases

Complete list of subscription databaseshttp://www.centenary.edu/library/research/databaseindex

Academic Search Complete • http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=web&defaultdb=a9h

Article First • http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/dbname=ArticleFirst;FSIP

World History Collection • http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=web&defaultdb=wdh

E-Journals

Complete list of subscription e-journalshttp://www.centenary.edu/library/research/ejournals

Other suggested e-journals and e-journal collections:

Electronic Full Text Journals (Search "History") • http://atoz.ebsco.com.centenary.idm.oclc.org/Titles/3423?lang=en&lang.menu=en&lang.subject=en

E-Books

Complete list of subscription e-bookshttp://www.centenary.edu/library/research/ebooks

Other suggested e-books and e-book collections:

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)http://www.doabooks.org/

Hathi Trust Digital Libraryhttp://www.hathitrust.org/

Internet Medieval Sourcebookhttp://www.fordham.edu/halsall/sbook.html

National Academy Presshttp://www.nap.edu/

National Archives and Records Administrationís Electronic Access Projecthttp://www.archives.gov/

Online Books Pagehttp://digital.library.upenn.edu/books/

Project Gutenberghttp://www.gutenberg.org/

University of California Presshttp://publishing.cdlib.org/ucpressebooks//index_subjects.html

Professional Associations

American Historical Association • http://www.historians.org/

Phi Alpha Theta, National History Honor Society • http://www.phialphatheta.org/

Other Suggested Online History Resources

Combating Terrorism Center: Letters from Abbottabad: Bin Ladin Sidelined? • http://www.ctc.usma.edu/posts/letters-from-abbottabad-bin-ladin-sidelined

Deutsch Digitale Bibliothek • http://www.deutsche-digitale-bibliothek.de/

DigiBaeck: Leo Baeck Institute • http://www.lbi.org/digibaeck/

Europeana • http://www.europeana.eu/portal/

Google Cultural Institute • http://www.google.com/culturalinstitute/#!home:page=1

Historical Text Archive • http://historicaltextarchive.com

Nelson Mandela: Center of Memory • http://archive.nelsonmandela.org/#!home

Versailles 3D: Over the Centuries • http://www.versailles3d.com/en/over-the-centuries/xviie/

Victorian Era Web • http://www.victorianweb.org/

Yad Vashem Holocaust Memorial and Archive from Jerusalem • http://www.yadvashem.org