Forward… Forward… Centenary
Homecoming Honorees ’07

Hall of Fame: Dr. Will K. Andress ’61
A.C. “Cheesy” Voran Director of the Centenary College Choir; Director Emeritus effective May 5, 2007; Retirement effective June 30, 2007

Alumni Loyalty Award: Dr. Wayne Hanson ’51
Bayou State Oil, former President of the Centenary Alumni Board and former Chairman of the Centenary Chemistry Department

Honorary Alumna: Ms. Peggy Burkenroad Selber
Philanthropist, community volunteer and supporter of the arts

Young Alumni Leadership Award: Ms. Angie White ‘93
Vice president, President-elect of Shreveport-Bossier Alumni Chapter

Outstanding Teacher Award: Dr. Tom Ticich
Professor of Chemistry

President’s Excellence Award: Ms. Francine Campbell
Coordinator of Conferences and Facilities

Lyons Research Grant: Dr. Michelle Glaros
Assistant Professor of Art

Founders’ Day Speakers:
Dr. Virginia Kilpatrick Shehee ’43, Centenary Trustee

Rev. Dr. Carole Cotton Winn ’65, Academy for Spiritual Leadership for the Louisiana Conference of the United Methodist Church

Ms. Nancy Boone Word ’70, former Vice President of Computer Sciences Corp.

Alumni’s Highest Honor: Hall of Fame
In a year filled with honors, Dr. Will K. Andress (center) celebrates his selection for the Centenary Alumni Hall of Fame with Centenary President Ken Schwab (left) and Alumni President Charles Grubb ’69. See the feature about Dr. Andress’s retirement on page 12.
Sharing in the festivities at the Alumni Awards dinner: Libby Andress Engman and daughter Lucy.
Choir supporter extraordinaire Doris Sims gets a hug from Dr. Andress.
Dr. Michelle Glaros, assistant professor of art, receives congratulations from Charlton Lyons upon receiving the annual Lyons Research Grant.

Honorary Alumni: Peggy B. Selber
Peggy Burkenroad Selber, whose volunteer work is legendary, is the newest Honorary Alumna of the college. Her activities include serving on the oversight committee for the Meadows Museum of Art and on the board of Sci-Port Discovery Center, where she established the Aaron and Peggy Selber Red River Research Writing Competition.
Her philanthropy has included Centenary and the Meadows Museum through the Aaron and Peggy Selber Foundation and the Burkenroad Selber Foundation.

Alumni Loyalty Award: Dr. Wayne Hanson '51
For his long and abiding service to Centenary and its alumni organizations, Wayne Hanson, Ph.D., of Bayou State Oil, was honored with the annual Alumni Loyalty Award. He is a former president of the Centenary Alumni Board and a former professor and chairman of the Chemistry Department. While teaching at Centenary, he started and coached the first cross-country team and he is still a runner himself, participating in local road races and statewide senior meets. He currently serves on the National Alumni Board and the Alumni Connections Committee.

Young Alumni Leadership Award Angie White '93
Angie White ’93 recently returned to Shreveport from Washington, D.C., where she was active with the D.C. alumni chapter. Since her return she has set the pace for other alumni volunteers, participating in alumni focus groups, volunteering to help with alumni events, and starting her own alumni blog to share her thoughts and experiences related to Centenary. She is vice president and president-elect of the Shreveport-Bossier Alumni Chapter. She works in international finance and is passionate about food and cooking.

Outstanding Teacher 2007: Dr. Tom Ticich
Each year, students, faculty and staff vote upon an honor that’s considered among the highest for Centenary faculty, the Outstanding Teacher Award. Here’s a bit about this year’s recipient, Dr. Tom Ticich, who was promoted to full professor of chemistry this spring:
Degrees: B. S., Cook College, Rutgers University, 1982; Ph. D., University of Wisconsin, 1988.
Research interests: span several areas in laser spectroscopy and materials science. He has used lasers to study high energy vibrational states of dioxetanes and to monitor the presence of the nanoparticles that comprise soot by heating them with a laser to incandescence. He has also explored the techniques of cavity ring-down spectroscopy and laser-induced breakdown spectroscopy to monitor various species in trace amounts. Another interest is synthesizing carbon nanotubes in flames and other environments.
Currently working on: a major revision of the general chemistry curriculum supported by a grant from the Louisiana Board of Regents.
Advisor to: What else but the Chemistry Club?
Passion outside of science: Music. He is a classical accordionist and he sings at his church.




Founders’ Day Celebrates Women’s Role in Centenary’s History
Virginia Kilpatrick Shehee ’43, the only woman ever named “Mr. Shreveport” (in 1998), kicked off this year’s Founders’ Day convocation with a note about the first women who completed degrees at Centenary in 1899. Though they completed all the work, they were awarded certificates while the males received diplomas at graduation. It wasn’t until the 1940s that that omission was corrected by Dr. Joe Mickle, she said, and the Schwing sisters received their diplomas.

Dr. Shehee introduced the day’s speakers: Nancy Boone Word ’70 and Carole Cotton Winn ’65, who each reminisced about Centenary people, places and events and the skills they took with them when they left Centenary. From Centenary, Word took “an ability to communicate, a whole lot of confidence and the ability to collaborate.” The Rev. Dr. Winn noted that “people encouraged me at every turn.”

To view their entire speeches, see


Speaker Follows the Rules-
37 Years Later

Nancy Boone, then about to be a graduating senior, read the May 1, 1970 Conglomerate article that reminded all graduating students and those withdrawing to return their ID cards to the cashier’s window in the Administration Building. But somehow that article—and the aforementioned ID card—got stashed away amidst other Centenary memorabilia and remained there for almost 37 years. When Nancy Boone Word got the invitation to speak at Founder’s Day 2007, she returned to memorabilia to prepare for the visit and found the reminder and the card. She decided to do as instructed. She returned the card to President Ken Schwab, proving once again that it’s never too late to follow the rules.