Trek Committee

2013-2014 Members

Faculty-Humanities Ms. Emily Heugatter
Faculty-Natural Sciences Dr. David Bieler
Faculty-Social Sciences Dr. Michelle Wolkomir
Dir. Global Engagement Mr. Christopher Lavan
Dir. Career Services Mr. Dennis Taylor
Provost's Designee, ex-officio Dr. Edward Ragan

Purposes and Responsibilities

This committee reports directly to the Academic Policy Council and administers faculty policies related to three degree requirements: CO 151: Service Learning, CA 250: Career Exploration, and CU 351: Intercultural Experience. This committee approves proposed courses and independent projects that meet the criteria for the career exploration, intercultural experience and/or the service-learning requirement according to approved guidelines. The committee advises the Director of Career Services in the teaching of CA 253: Career Strategies. The committee shall report all of its actions promptly to the Academic Policy Council, normally through its minutes and reports at faculty meetings.


The committee is composed of three faculty members, one elected by each division; one student; a director from the Intercultural Engagement, Community or Career offices; and the Provost (ex officio and without vote).


Last updated 14 August 2013.

Share |