alt text


Theta Alpha Kappa is a professional society whose primary purpose is to promote the scholastic study of religion. This organization seeks to bring students, teachers, and other religious professionals together by providing a respectful and stimulating forum in which ideas and views can be explored and exchanged. Theta Alpha Kappa encourages a free exchange of ideas derived from thoughtful research in keeping with the highest standards of scholastic integrity, methodology, and respect.

The three Greek letters which comprise our Society’s name hold a significance:Theta for theos or God; Alpha for anthropos or human being; and Kappa for koinonia or community.


Centenary students must have a) completed at least three semesters at an institution having a local chapter in good standing, b) completed a minimum of twelve (12) semester credits in courses representing Religious Studies, c) attained a grade point average of at least 3.5 n such courses, d) attained at least a 3.0 grade point average in their total academic program to date, and e) been ranked in at least the upper 35% of their class in general scholarship at the time of induction.

Why Join Theta Alpha Kappa?

Joining Theta Alpha Kappa is a concrete way to demonstrate a commitment to academic achievement in Religious Studies, an area which is crucial to understanding the world at large.

Involvement in Theta Alpha Kappa looks great on a resume; it demonstrates a high level of commitment to employers, and the availability of executive positions provides a wide-range of opportunities to gain leadership experience.

Membership in Theta Alpha Kappa lasts for a lifetime; it is a permanent connection to the Religious Studies field.

At graduation, members of Theta Alpha Kappa are eligible to wear a scarlet cord, proclaiming their achievement.

Great opportunities to meet others with your academic interests and commitment level!

Organizational Meeting

Our fall organizational meeting will be held on this September; stay tuned!

Charter Members, April 11, 2002

  • Laci Lee Adam
  • Lynn Bryan
  • Connie Manning
  • Valerie Olson
  • Montie Thomas
  • Sarah Williams
  • Jonathan Hammett

Alumni Members

  • Katie McKay
  • Lacey Nichols
  • Megan Saucer
  • Natasha Wilson
  • Brandon Wollerson
  • J. Morales
  • Ryan Reid
  • Lindsey Bellamy
  • Darrius Hills
  • Jared Willes
  • Amanda Harper
  • Mary Greene
  • Kacie Lopez
  • Sean Hennington
  • Barrett McGee
  • Courtney Lacy
  • Tyler Davis
  • Marissa Teauseau
  • Rachel McConnell-Switzer
  • Tyler Davis
  • Sam Timpa
  • Christene Paxton
  • Sandy Roach
  • Nicole Clifton
  • Emma Cook
  • Ben Scalisi
  • Rachel Stevens

Current Members

  • Anna Medea
  • Lauren Rogers
  • Kayla Marion
  • Elizabeth Dilks
  • Taylor Gilmour
  • Kayla Klaus
  • William C. Gaston
  • Jacquelyn Batson
  • Michael Schwahdt

2011-12 Officers

  • William C. Gaston, President
  • Lauren Rogers, Secretary-Treasurer

Faculty Adviser

Dr. David Otto

Albert Clark Award

The TAK National Board of Directors invites entries for the Albert Clark Award, given annually to one undergraduate and one graduate student for submission of the best papers in religious students, as judged by a panel established by the Board. Awardees receive $200 each and their submissions are published as award articles in the Journal of Theta Alpha Kappa. An additional $200 will be awarded to the chapters with which the winners are affiliated.

Competition Guidelines

1. Essays in any area of religious students and theology are welcome.

2. Only one essay per author will be considered. During the period that the essay is under consideration for publication in JTAK, the author asserts the article has not been published elsewhere nor is under consideration for publication for any other publishing agency.

3. All essays submitted will be considered for both the Albert Clark Award and publication in the journal.

4. Papers should be double-spaced and not exceed 20 pages, including endnotes, when typed in a 12-point font size. Shorter papers are acceptable.

5. Author's name and school name should be identified in cover letter only—not on the manuscript original or copies.

6. The paper should follow Chicago Manual of Style.

7. Winners will be notified of the judges' decisions in March 2012. Essays submitted by January 15, 2011 will be considered for the 2012 award.

8. Papers should be completely clean of any comments or corrections made by an professor or reviewer. Papers should also be clean of any grammatical errors.

9. Send manuscript original and three copies to the JTAK Editor, Dr. Leo H. Madden, Department of Theology, Ohio Dominican University, 1216 Sunbury Road, Columbus, OH 43219.