In existence since 1985, the Women's Endowment Quorum (WEQ) has contributed more than one million dollars to Centenary College. Membership is open to members of our community who believe in the vital mission of Centenary College. Membership in the WEQ requires an annual contribution of $1,000.

WEQ operations are simple but key to the enhancement of the College. Each year project proposals are submitted by faculty and staff which are then prioritized and validated by the Cabinet. The WEQ chooses to support these priority projects as funding allows.

Likewise, WEQ membership requires little time but is highly enjoyable; in addition to annual luncheons or receptions, there are opportunities for theater, art, and social gatherings on the Centenary campus. Invitations to special College events, such as the President's Circle reception, are also routinely extended to Quorum members.


Membership Roster

 Ms. Catherine Green Allen  Mrs. Judy Crow McColgan
 Mrs. Lindsay Holman Atkins  Mrs. Betty Garrett McDonald
 Mrs. Ruth Atkins  Mrs. Maggie McElroy
 Mrs. Nancy Hurley Beauvais  Mrs. Thomas H. Murphy
 Mrs. Katherine Leopard Bicknell  Mrs. Clare Nelson
 Mrs. Bess Browder Black Ms. Patricia A. O'Brien 
Mrs. John C Bray  Dr. Gale J. Odom
 Ms. Margaret L. Bray  Mrs. Emilie Anne Connell Ostendorff
 Dr. Sara Allison Burroughs  Mrs. Michele Armstrong Q=Petersen
 Mrs. Jane Johnson Cooke  Mrs. Judy Fulgham Roemer
Mrs. Laura Crawford Mrs. W. Kirby Rowe, Jr.
Mrs. Gretchen S. Crow Mrs. Alice Buchanan Schwendimann
Dr. Ann Dobie Mrs. Judith Kennedy Storer
Mrs. Lennis S. Elston, CPA Mrs. Martha Storer
Mrs. Ginger Flournoy Mrs. Renee Mowbray Webb
Mrs. Ivy Frierson Mrs. Katherine C. Weir
Mrs. Maureen C. Gamble Mrs. Patricia Williams Tenney
Mrs. Sally Ivey Gardner Mrs. Hazel R. Yokem
Mrs. Barbara Treat Green Mrs. Patricia Verlander Guittard
Mrs. Dean English Hurley Mrs. Jean Marie Entrikin Harwell
Mrs. Jane Hutchinson James Mrs. Sybil F. Roos
Mrs. Judith Mayer Kinsey Ms. Dian P. Tooke
Mrs. Mary O'Brien Long Mrs. Nancy Boone Word
Mrs. Catherine D. Lusk Mrs. Linda McCutcheon Crow


History of WEQ

The WEQ was founded in 1985. The article below, which details the group's origins, first appeared in the Fall 1985 Centenary Magazine. 

A Vision with a Purpose

A dream of Muses member Doris Box, the Women's Endowment Quorum is now a reality. The roster resembles a Who's Who of Caddo, Bossier, and Avoyelles parishes: Mrs. Luther A. Beene, Mrs. Harvey Broyles, Mrs. A.L. Byrd, Mrs. Edward T. Carruth, Mrs. C.O. Foil, Mrs. W.W. Gardner, Mrs. John A. Hendrick, Mrs. Samuel B. Hicks, Mrs. Thomas E. Hogan, Mrs. Sam D. Hunter, Mrs. Roy Hurley, Mrs. John H. Johnson Jr., Mrs. Norman V. Kinsey, Mrs. Edwin Moore, Mrs. George D. Nelson, Mrs. Austin G. Robertson, Mrs. W.L. Sibley, Mrs. David Tyrrell, Mrs. Donald A. Webb, Mrs. Roland Wibker, Mrs. Robert E. Witt, Mrs. Hoyt Yokem, and Mrs. Box.

Membership is open to ladies who have on their hearts how the College's endowment can be improved: by their own gifts, by creative projects, and by encouraging potential donors. Annual contributions are a minimum of $1,000. There will be few meetings: a business session and an educational event; social gatherings, and travel opportunities as they arise. Invitations to special events sponsored by the College will also be extended to Quorum members.

"Our goal is to raise $100,000," said Mrs. Box, who has chosen this as her first 'challenge' with Centenary. A non-alum (and not even a Methodist!), she sees the group as making a significant impact on the College, now and in the future. With over $35,000 now in hand, the ladies plan to reach their $100,000 goal in about four years. In the meantime, they will keep attuned to the current needs of the College via a Future Planning Committee. If a need at the College is one that they wish to address, it will be considered a side project using separate monies. One such project was the renovation of the lobby in Sexton Hall. The $6,800 undertaking involved painting, papering, carpeting, furnishing, and accessorizing. The dark, 'early attic' lobby is now a cheerful place to gather and entertain friends.




Contact Info

Viki Fentress

General Appeals & Special Events Coordinator

Hamilton Hall