Centenary presents annual spring Honors Convocation via video

SHREVEPORT, LA — Centenary College’s annual Honors Convocation recognizes students for achievements in academics and campus leadership and traditionally serves as one of the capstones for the academic year. This year’s convocation, scheduled for Friday, May 1, was converted to a virtual format following the College’s decision to complete the spring term via remote instruction during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Centenary faculty and staff contributed videos recognizing the honorees, including recipients of academic department and campus awards as well as those inducted into honor societies. The Honors Convocation video and a viewing guide is available at centenary.edu/honorsconvocation.




AED Outstanding Contributions Award – Haley Parker

Biology Department Award for Academic Excellence – Cameron Hewett


Natural Sciences

Poppy K. Moon Endowed Award – Isabella Kreko



CRC Award in General Chemistry – Jonathan Okereke

Outstanding Achievement in Organic Chemistry – Payton Lii

Senior Chemistry Award – Abigail Moody and Anjuni Singh


Christian Leadership Center

Christian Leadership Center Seniors Award – Anna DiMaggio

D.L. Dykes Founder Award for Excellence in Field Education – Madison Fremen

James Sears Award for Outstanding Contribution to CLC – Caleb Smith



Hallquist Elementary Education Award – SarahJayne Driskill

Vroonland Secondary Education Award – Kristen Dufour



P. B. Lindsey Freshman English Award – Phoebe Cragon

Thomas E. Horton & Stephen Victory Scholarship – Phoebe Cragon

M.T. Brewerton Award for English – Jonathan Harvey

Zeak Monroe Buckner Creative Writing Award – Harrison Starrett

Audrey M. Smith Poetry Award – Brian Flynn


Financial Aid

Mary Sue Rix Award – Shelby Baham


Frost School of Business

Top Business Major Award – Erin Rostro

Woodrow W. Pate Economics Award – Nathan Lim

Top Accounting Major Award – Bryce Kozeny

Sigma Beta Delta – Myka Fulce, Harrison John, Lauren Lessenberry, Brittany Risner



Austin Sartin Award – Hayden Clason

Estwing Award – Ian Veserra


History and Political Science

Colonial Dames of America, Chapter 6: Outstanding American History Student Award – Jacquelyn Ancelet

Chris T. and Sue C. Barnette Memorial Award – Hallie Smith

Katherine Slaikeu Nolan Historical Research Award – Jessica Jordan, King Gray

M.T. Brewerton Award for History – Taylor Wells

Excellence in Political Science Award in honor of Professor Rodney Grunes – Pierre Bida

Dr. Leroy Vogel Memorial Award – Kennedy Wilcher

Weems, Schimpf, Haines, Landry, Shemwell & Moore Pre-Law Award – Patrick Riley

Pi Sigma Alpha Honor Society – Taylor Abshire, Lily Ann Easley, Jessica Jordan, Taylor Wells, Kennedy Wilcher

Phi Alpha Theta Honor Society – Maria Zabaneh



Virginia Carlton Mathematics Award – Kaylea Patridge

Minnie Hall Brown and Willey Bush Brown, Jr. Award – Miguel Vasquez



Shirley Hawn Outstanding Freshman – Hannah Jordan

Ronald E. Dean Academic Achievement Award – Brennen Templeton

Frank Carroll Outstanding Junior Award – Brennen Templeton

Outstanding Senior – Sierra Worman

Sigma Alpha Iota International Music Fraternity Collegiate Honor Award – Zipphora Hyman

Sigma Alpha Iota International Music Fraternity Scholastic Award – Kiley Simpson



L. Hughes Cox Endowed Scholarship – Anjuni Singh



Vroonland Psychology Award – Kaylee Dupree


Alpha Chi National Honor Society

Jacquelyn Ancelet, Lily Ann Easley, Myka Fulce, Payton Lii, Raegen Petzold, Miguel Vasquez, Taylor Wells




Centenary Activities Board (CAB)

CAB Member of the Year – Callie Fedd and Tori Sparks

CAB Executive Committee Member of the Year – Ellen Atkinson


Chaplain’s Office

John M. Warren Award – Gabby Curtis

Thomas A. Pitt Memorial Award – Cara Armstrong


Maroon Jackets

Joy Jeffers Award – Kiley Simpson

Ray Williams Honorary Maroon Jacket Award – Shelby Baham

Faculty/Staff Honorary Maroon Jacket – D’An Gates and Deborah Scarlato

Maroon Jackets 2020-2021 – Taylor Abshire, Cara Armstrong, Lila Beavers, Piper Beilke, Abbie Boudreaux, Audrey Gibson, Meg Hamilton, Cason Hancock, Hayley Hardel, Harrison John, Isabella Kreko, Marissa Lally, Lauren Lessenberry, Paul Nathan Lim, Kirsten Maddox, Lauren McHan, Arianna Mitchell, Raegen Petzold, Reginald Porter, Marissa Ramsey, Chris Stevens, Aeron Tisdale, Kennedy Wilcher, Maria Zabaneh, Na’Lani Zeno


Department of Community Engagement

Morgan and Pledger Diversity Advocate Award – Ari Murphy

Dian Tooke Student Service Award – Nilu Dhungel

Omicron Delta Kappa – Taylor Abshire, Cara Armstrong, Pierre Bida, King Gray, Yu Hang Lau, Rachael Higginbotham, Reginald Porter, Harrison Starrett, Hunter Todd, Taylor Wells, Kennedy Wilcher


Department of Intercultural Engagement

Grace Bareikis International Outreach Award – Nilu Dhungel


Residence Life

Allan Todd Memorial Award for Outstanding Resident Assistant – Cason Hancock


Student Government Association

SGA Bullet Award – Marissa Ramsey

SGA Pacesetters – Baylee Barajas, Piper Beilke, Sami Borchalli, Zackry Dick, Coco Edwards, Payton Fowler, Cason Hancock, Daniel Hernandez, Amir Kaskas, Kirsten Maddox, Divine Martin, Reginald Porter, Marissa Ramsey, Itzel Sigaran, Aeron Tisdale, Hunter Todd, Maria Zabaneh

Pacesetters Spotlight Award – Cedric Harris

Faculty/Staff Pacesetters – Dr. Chris Ciocchetti and Dr. Mark Leeper

SGA Executive Committee 2020-2021:

            President – Payton Fowler

            VP of Institutional Affairs – Jonathan Okereke

            VP of Campus Engagement – Piper Beilke

            VP of Finance – Hunter Todd

            VP of Publicity and Records – London Todd

SGA Senators 2020-2021:

Sophomores – Markiese Boykin, Blake Federico, Ian Givens, Justus Mitchell, Emily Sander

Juniors – Tewana Hawkins, Emma Grace Lemoine, Divine Martin, Brenlyee Meaux, Hayden Weber

Seniors – Ali Ibrahim, Arianna Mitchell, Marissa Ramsey, Ashley Strawder, Ashley Watts


Student Life

Outstanding Contributions to Student Life Award – Ellen Atkinson, Nilu Dhungel, Zackry Dick, Coco Edwards, Jada Faul, Madison Fremen, Amir Kaskas, Gabby Lovemore, Ari Murphy, Kiley Simpson, Max Wamsley, Kayla Willie



Verba J. Schwab Memorial Endowed Leadership Award – Camryn Hebert

Ellis H. Brown Leadership Award – Kiley Simpson and Amir Kaskas


The College also recognized two faculty members who are retiring after many years of service to Centenary:

Dr. George Newtown, professor of English, 30 years of service (1990-2020)

Dr. David Thomas, professor of mathematics, 46 years of service (1974-2020)



Notice of Nondiscriminatory Policy The institution does not discriminate in its educational and employment policies against any person on the basis of gender, race, color, religion, age, disability, sexual orientation, national or ethnic origin, or on any other basis proscribed by federal, state, or local law.