Centenary presents awards during annual Honors Convocation

SHREVEPORT, LA — Centenary College’s annual Honors Convocation recognizes students for achievements in academics and campus leadership and serves as one of the capstones for the academic year. This year’s convocation was held in the Gold Dome on May 6, kicking off the College’s commencement weekend for the Class of 2022.

Centenary faculty and staff recognized the honorees, including recipients of academic department and campus awards as well as those inducted into honor societies.

A video of the Honors Convocation is available on Centenary’s YouTube channel.



Alpha Chi National Honor Society

Jordan Danzell, Anna DiMaggio, Hannah Jordan, Melissa Krzywanski, Brian O’Hart, Anton Pelto, Mali Simmons, Caleb Smith, Lauren Warren


Art and Visual Culture

Nellie Lyons Studio Art Award – Riana Seidenberg



AED Outstanding Contributions Award – Elizabeth Epley

Biology Department Award for Academic Excellence – Milla Reddick, Connor Wellman


Natural Sciences

Poppy K. Moon Endowed Award – Holly Carter



General Chemistry Achievement Award – Alireza Moosavi

Outstanding Achievement in Inorganic Chemistry – Clarissa deSantiago

Outstanding Achievement in Organic Chemistry – Melissa Krzywanski



Hallquist Elementary Education Award – Daniel Ainsworth

Vroonland Secondary Education Award – Miles McDowell



M.T. Brewerton Award for English – Callie Fedd

Zeak Monroe Buckner Creative Writing Award – Phoebe Cragon

Audrey M. Smith Poetry Award – Emma Greer

Thomas E. Horton & Stephen Victory Scholarship – Emily Moreno

Sigma Tau Delta – International English Honor Society Award for Literary Excellence – Reece Maguire


Frost School of Business

Cecil E. Ramey, Jr. Frost School of Business Award – Hayden Weber

CFA Institute Outstanding Award – Richard Polan

Top Accounting Major Award – Jaymee Wilkinson

Top Business Major Award – Margot Frost

Top Economics Major Award – Sethan Ward

Woodrow W. Pate Economics Award – Jaron Petreas

Sigma Beta Delta Honor Society – Jordan Danzell, Ian Givens, Kendall Huff, Devan Martin, Vernesha Martin, Madison McCary, Caroline Richmond, Mallory Stout, Jaymee Wilkinson



Estwing Award – Ian Veserra


History and Political Science

Colonial Dames of America, Chapter 6: Outstanding American History Student Award – Christine Goodman

Chris T. and Sue C. Barnette Memorial Award – LA Easley

M.T. Brewerton Award for History – Jo Bennett

Excellence in Political Science Award in honor of Professor Rodney Grunes – Itzel Sigaran

Dr. Leroy Vogel Memorial Award – Sierra Charles

Weems, Schimpf, Haines, Landry, Shemwell & Moore Pre-Law Award – Jaron Petreas

Pi Sigma Alpha Honor Society – Jessica Cordova, Christine Goodman, Remi Miller, Victoria Sparks, Siobahn Stanley, Mallory Stout

Phi Alpha Theta Honor Society – Christine Goodman, Camren Hohn, Wendy Jimenez, Barrett Keene, Victoria Sparks



Virginia Carlton Mathematics Award – Joel Cardenas-Lopez

Minnie Hall Brown and Willey Bush Brown, Jr. Award – Bryn Jenkins



Shirley Hawn Outstanding Freshman Award – Dominick Benedetto

Ronald E. Dean Academic Achievement Award – Hannah Jordan

Frank Carroll Award – Anna DiMaggio

Outstanding Senior Award – Madelyn Stewart



L. Hughes Cox Endowed Scholarship – Itzel Sigaran



Vroonland Psychology Award – Lauren Kelley

Outstanding Graduate in Psychology Award – Mallarie Mixon, Sherry Shaw

Psi Chi Honor Society – Brianna Callicoatte, Jessica Cordova, Regan Griffin, Camryn Hebert, Ashley Hunter, Iqra Jatoi, Gracie Napier, Sherry Shaw, Kennedy Stephens, Natalie Taylor-Watkins


Religious Studies

Dean R.E. Smith Religious Studies Award – Wendy Jimenez



Dr. W. Ferrell Pledger Honor Award in Sociology – Mariposa Deutsch



Best Oral Presentation in the Humanities – Hannah Jordan

Best Oral Presentation in the Natural Sciences – Camila Weber

Best Oral Presentation in the Social Sciences – Mariposa Deutsch

Best Poster Presentation, 1st Place – Jonathan Okereke

Best Poster Presentation, 2nd Place – Caymen Hawkins

Best Presentation in Communication Arts – Kendall Knaps

Best Presentation in Studio Art – Riana Seidenberg

Trek 116 Project – “Mythology:” Rachael Ayres, Kylie Bates, Kaitlyn Bordelon, Debra Brown, Kaleb Coates, Ethan Davis, Summer Faust, Emma Foster, Madison McKnight, Emma Oertling, Anna Scarbrock, Allana Scott-Daniels, Caitlin Train



Centenary Activities Board (CAB)

CAB Member of the Year – Alexa Hinojosa, Mackenzie Newlan

CAB Executive Committee Member of the Year – Kierston McPherson


Chaplain’s Office

John M. Warren Award – Bryn Jenkins

Thomas A. Pitt Memorial Award – Anna DiMaggio


Christian Leadership Center

Christian Leadership Center Seniors Award – Mackenzie Olinger, Collin Pomirko

D.L. Dykes Founder Award for Excellence in Field Education – Anna DiMaggio

James Sears Award for Outstanding Contribution to CLC – Baylee Barajas


Department of Community Engagement

Dian Tooke Student Service Award – Elizabeth Matthews


Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Morgan and Pledger Diversity Advocate Award – Tewanna Hawkins


Integrated Advising

Integrated Advising Mentor Award – Alyssa Davis, Rachel Demerjian, Jan Gary, Jerney Harms, Gus Hodges, Vernesha Martin


Department of Intercultural Engagement

Grace Bareikis International Outreach Award – Iqra Jatoi


Residence Life

Allan Todd Memorial Award for Outstanding Resident Assistant – Jennifer Saldana



SGA Bullet Award – Caymen Hawkins

SGA Pacesetters – Alyssa Davis, Bryn Jenkins, Camryn Hebert, Caymen Hawkins, Colin Schultz, Daniel Hernandez, Iqra Jatoi, Itzel Sigaran, Jonathan Okereke, Jordan Fong, Markiese Boykin, Sami Borchalli, Sierra Charles, Stan Melton, Tewanna Hawkins, Tori Ligman, Vernesha Martin

Pacesetters Spotlight Award – Itzel Sigaran

Faculty/Staff Pacesetters – Dr. Andia Augustin-Billy and Ricki Rebollar-Becerra

SGA Executive Committee 2022-2023:

            President – Jonathan Okereke

            VP of Institutional Affairs – Vernesha Martin

            VP of Campus Engagement – Stanley Melton

            VP of Finance – Andrew Turner

            VP of Publicity and Records – Jordan Danzell

SGA Senators 2022-2023:

Sophomores – Avery Cauley, Emma Greer, Channing Hall, Tarif Islam, Andrea Kay

Juniors – Anacelia Galeano, Caymen Hawkins, Victoria Ligman, Sarah Murphy, Visar Rraci

Seniors – Isabella Brown, Sierra Charles, Remi Miller, Emily Sander



Ray Williams Honorary Maroon Jacket Award – Dylan Scott

Faculty/Staff Honorary Maroon Jacket – Ricki Rebollar-Becerra

Joy Jeffers Award – Iqra Jatoi

Maroon Jackets 2022-2023 – Emilie Adams, Markiese Boykin, Brianna Callicoatte, Holly Carter, Sierra Charles, Jessica Cordova, Rose Deshler, Anna DiMaggio, Ian Givens, Christine Goodman, Jerney Harms, Camryn Hebert, Kendall Huff, Bryn Jenkins, Devan Martin, Remi Miller, Celeste Muniz, Jonathan Okereke, Alaina Owens, Jaycie Proctor, Emily Sander, Greta Simolke, Anna Storms, Camila Weber



Outstanding Contributions in Student Development – Alyssa Davis, LA Easley, Callie Fedd, Tewanna Hawkins, Iqra Jatoi, Kierston McPherson, Charles Roppolo, III, Itzel Sigaran, Sarah Thompson, London Todd, Hayden Weber



Financial Aid

Mary Sue Rix Award – Hannah Mitchell



Verba J. Schwab Memorial Endowed Leadership Award – Channing Hall

Ellis H. Brown Leadership Award – Charles Roppolo, III, and Itzel Sigaran



Notice of Nondiscriminatory Policy The institution does not discriminate in its educational and employment policies against any person on the basis of gender, race, color, religion, age, disability, sexual orientation, national or ethnic origin, or on any other basis proscribed by federal, state, or local law.