THE LATEST: Stay updated on Centenary's COVID-19 response. Learn More.

Centenary presents awards during annual Honors Convocation

SHREVEPORT, LA — Centenary College’s annual Honors Convocation recognizes students for achievements in academics and campus leadership and serves as one of the capstones for the academic year. This year’s convocation was held in the Gold Dome on May 7, kicking off the College’s commencement weekend for the Classes of 2020 and 2021.

Centenary faculty and staff recognized the honorees, including recipients of academic department and campus awards as well as those inducted into honor societies.

A video from the Honors Convocation is available on Centenary’s YouTube channel.


Alpha Chi National Honor Society
Corey Bowe, Mariposa Deutsch, Dario Garcia, Ian Givens, Kendall Huff, Ashley Hunter, Bryn Jenkins, Teri Johnson, Jonathan Okereke, Siobahn Stanley, Anna Storms, Camila Weber, Connor Wellman

Art and Visual Culture
Nellie Lyons Studio Art Award – Susana Wilson

AED Outstanding Contributions Award – Chris Stevens
Biology Department Award for Academic Excellence – Isabella Kreko

Natural Sciences
Poppy K. Moon Endowed Award – Iqra Jatoi

CRC Award in General Chemistry – Haley Bordelon
Outstanding Achievement in Organic Chemistry – Jonathan Okereke
Senior Chemistry Academic Award – Caleb Hibbs

Hallquist Elementary Education Award – Emily Wilson
Vroonland Secondary Education Award – Shannon Orlopp

M.T. Brewerton Award for English – Abbie Boudreaux
Zeak Monroe Buckner Creative Writing Award – Danny Paulk
Audrey M. Smith Poetry Award – Phoebe Cragon and Brian Flynn
Outstanding Freshman Major Award – Jordan Fong

Frost School of Business
Cecil E. Ramey, Jr. Frost School of Business Award – Christopher John
CFA Institute Outstanding Award – Zachary Palumbo
Top Accounting Major Award – Myka Fulce
Top Business Major Award – Lauren Lessenberry and Brittany Risner
Top Economics Major Award – Nathan Lim
Woodrow W. Pate Economics Award – Sethan Ward
Sigma Beta Delta Honor Society – Alyssa Davis, Margot Frost, Sarah Harrison, Anthony Jaure, Gin Pau, Richard Polan, Luke Royle, Jonathan Thomson

Austin Sartin Award – Sydney Bascomb

History and Political Science
Colonial Dames of America, Chapter 6: Outstanding American History Student Award – Jo Bennett and Brenlyee Meaux
Chris T. and Sue C. Barnette Memorial Award – Kennedy Wilcher
Katherine Slaikeu Nolan Historical Research Award – Abbie Boudreaux
M.T. Brewerton Award for History – Maria Zabaneh
Excellence in Political Science Award in honor of Professor Rodney Grunes – Aeron Tisdale
Dr. Leroy Vogel Memorial Award – Patrick Riley
Weems, Schimpf, Haines, Landry, Shemwell & Moore Pre-Law Award – Tori Sparks
Pi Sigma Alpha Honor Society – Taylor Abshire, Jo Bennett, Sami Borchalli, Sierra Charles, L.A. Easley, Dario Garcia, Ian Givens, Renee Katz, Brenlyee Meaux, Jaron Petreas, Raegen Petzold, Patrick Riley, Itzel Sigaran, Caleb Smith, Aeron Tisdale, Kennedy Wilcher, Maria Zabaneh
Phi Alpha Theta Honor Society – Jackie Ancelet, Jo Bennett, Abbie Boudreaux, Brenlyee Meaux, Maria Zabaneh

Virginia Carlton Mathematics Award – Bryn Jenkins
Minnie Hall Brown and Willey Bush Brown, Jr. Award – Kaylea Patridge
John A. Hardin Award – Miguel Vasquez

Shirley Hawn Outstanding Freshman – Zane Harper
Ronald E. Dean Academic Achievement Award – Hannah Jordan and Madelyn Stewart
Frank Carroll Outstanding Junior Award – Corey Bowe
Outstanding Senior Award – Brennen Templeton
Sigma Alpha Iota International Music Fraternity Collegiate Honor Award – Veronica Seal-Bravo
Sigma Alpha Iota International Music Fraternity Scholastic Award – Maria Zabaneh

L. Hughes Cox Endowed Scholarship – Mekenzie Peshoff

Vroonland Psychology Award – Reginald Porter
Outstanding Graduate in Psychology Award – Piper Beilke
Psi Chi Honor Society – Jesseca Hageman, Kaye Kelley, Marissa Lally, Blair McLaughlin, Mallarie Mixon


Humanities – Milla Reddick
Music – Brennen Templeton
Natural Sciences – Na’Lani Zeno
Social Sciences – Marissa Lally
Poster – Payton Lii
Visual Arts – Kendall Knaps
Trek 116 Project – “Aliens Among Us:” Carson Alvarez, Cherokee Corbin, Mallory Credeur, Mathew Lamoreaux, Audrey Laper, Stanley Melton, Mackenzie Newlan, Manuel Angelo Ortiz, Nyla Pierce, Sabrina Scott, Keegan Tunstall, Andrew Turner, Benjamin Vazquez, Lauren Warren



Centenary Activities Board (CAB)
CAB Member of the Year – Veronica Dougherty and Celeste Muniz
CAB Executive Committee Member of the Year – Diane Battaglia

Chaplain’s Office
John M. Warren Award – Anna DiMaggio
Thomas A. Pitt Memorial Award – Cara Armstrong

Christian Leadership Center
Christian Leadership Center Seniors Award – Rene “Junior” Escobar Diaz and Bryn Jenkins
D.L. Dykes Founder Award for Excellence in Field Education – Anna Jane Storms
James Sears Award for Outstanding Contribution to CLC – Baylee Barajas

Department of Community Engagement
Morgan and Pledger Diversity Advocate Award – Marissa Ramsey
Dian Tooke Student Service Award – Na’Lani Zeno
Omicron Delta Kappa – Abbie Boudreaux, L.A. Easley, Lauren Lessenberry, Madison Mascagni, Taighlor McCallister, Mekenzie Peshoff, Itzel Sigaran, Sarah Thompson, Aeron Tisdale, London Todd, Maria Zabaneh

Department of Intercultural Engagement
Grace Bareikis International Outreach Award – Maria Zabaneh

Residence Life
Allan Todd Memorial Award for Outstanding Resident Assistant – Camryn Hebert

SGA Bullet Award – Ian Givens
SGA Pacesetters – Cara Armstrong, Baylee Barajas, Piper Beilke, Sami Borchalli, Jordan Danzell, L.A. Easley, Ian Givens, Cason Hancock, Tewana Hawkins, Daniel Hernandez, Divine Martin, Jonathan Okereke, Reginald Porter, Marissa Ramsey, Itzel Sigaran, Maria Zabaneh, Na’Lani Zeno
Pacesetters Spotlight Award – Reginald Porter
Faculty/Staff Pacesetters – Dr. Jessica Alexander and Dr. Mark Leeper
SGA Executive Committee 2020-2021:
President – Jonathan Okereke
VP of Institutional Affairs – Divine Martin
VP of Campus Engagement – Emily Sander
VP of Finance – Hayden Weber
VP of Publicity and Records – London Todd
SGA Senators 2021-2022:
Sophomores – Jordan Danzell, Caymen Hawkins, Stanley Melton, Sarah Murphy, Andrew Turner
Juniors – Sierra Charles, Ian Givens, Vernesha Martin, Remi Miller, Nolan Tomasek
Seniors – Emma Grace Lemoine, Virginia Passman, Patrick Riley

Ray Williams Honorary Maroon Jacket Award – Allie Whatley
Faculty/Staff Honorary Maroon Jacket – Dr. Emily Leithauser
Maroon Jackets 2021-2022 – Jackie Ancelet, Colin Dixon, Colbee Duke, L.A. Easley, Elizabeth Epley, Callie Fedd, Isabel Frederick, Margot Frost, Tewana Hawkins, Iqra Jatoi, Laura Knipper, Hannah Mitchell, Mallarie Mixon, Patrick Riley, Kendall Sanders, Cole Schultz, Colin Schultz, Xian Seamon-Baumgartner, Itzel Sigaran, Kaylin Swoboda, Sarah Thompson, London Todd, Connor Wellman

Outstanding Contributions in Student Development – Taylor Abshire, Cara Armstrong, Piper Beilke, Drew Echols, Payton Fowler, Audrey Gibson, Cason Hancock, Lauren Lessenberry, Taighlor McCallister, Reginald Porter, Marissa Ramsey, Ashley Strawder, Aeron Tisdale, Hunter Todd, Kennedy Wilcher, Maria Zabaneh, Na’Lani Zeno

Integrated Advising Peer Mentor Award – Lauren Lessenberry and Marissa Ramsey


Financial Aid
Mary Sue Rix Award – Keylee Adair
Class of 1964 50th Anniversary Award – Visar Rraci

Verba J. Schwab Memorial Endowed Leadership Award – Sarah Murphy
Ellis H. Brown Leadership Award – Reginald Porter and Marissa Ramsey


Notice of Nondiscriminatory Policy As To Students The institution does not discriminate in its educational and employment policies against any person on the basis of gender, race, color, religion, age, disability, sexual orientation, national or ethnic origin, or on any other basis proscribed by federal, state, or local law.