Centenary recognizes students at annual spring Honors Convocation

President Christopher L. Holoman with presidential honorees Rebecca Dunn (l), William Morrison (c), and Itzel Sigaran (r).

SHREVEPORT, LA — Centenary College recognized students for achievements in academics and campus leadership at its annual spring Honors Convocation held Friday, May 3, in the College’s Brown Memorial Chapel. Honorees included recipients of academic department and campus awards as well as those inducted into honor societies.

Centenary president Dr. Christopher L. Holoman also recognized four faculty members who are retiring after many years of service to the College:

Professor Bruce Allen, professor of art (1983-2019)

Dr. David Havird, professor of English (1988-2019)

Dr. Betsy Rankin-Christensen, professor of economics (1988-2019)

Dr. Samuel Shepherd, professor of history (1980-2019)



Alpha Chi National Honor Society

Leah Baer, Pierre Bida, Maryanna Boucher, Abbie Boudreaux, Coco Edwards, Jason Holler, Isabella Kreko, Amberlee Nix


AED Outstanding Contributions Award – Harrison Folse

Biology Department Award for Academic Excellence – Elizabeth Sander

Natural Sciences

Poppy K. Moon Endowed Award – Abigail Moody


CRC Award in General Chemistry – Milla Reddick

Outstanding Achievement in Organic Chemistry – Isabella Kreko

Senior Chemistry Award – Kyle Barron

Christian Leadership Center

Christian Leadership Center Seniors Award – Virginia Passman

D.L. Dykes Founder Award for Excellence in Field Education – Kayla Willie

James Sears Award for Outstanding Contribution to CLC – Cara Armstrong


Hallquist Elementary Education Award – Magan Katie Rome

Vroonland Secondary Education Award – Rebecca Vacha


Audrey M. Smith Poetry Award – Brian Flynn

M.T. Brewerton Award for English – Rosemary McMaster

Thomas E. Horton & Stephen Victory Scholarship – Callie Fedd

Zeak Monroe Buckner Creative Writing Award – Danny Paulk

Financial Aid

Mary Sue Rix Award – William Morrison

Frost School of Business

Top Business Major Award – Makayla Maxwell-Stallcup

Top Economics Major Award – Scott Halper

Woodrow W. Pate Economics Award – Jake Hillebrenner

Top Accounting Major Award – Jason Holler

Sigma Beta Delta – Makayla Maxwell-Stallcup, Arpana Neupane

Omicron Delta Epsilon – Scott Halper, Jake Hillebrenner, Makayla Maxwell-Stallcup, Brooks Smitha


Austin Sartin Award – James Crawford

History and Political Science

Colonial Dames of America, Chapter 6: Outstanding American History Student Award – King Gray

Katherine Slaikeu Nolan Historical Research Award – Amberlee Nix

Phi Alpha Theta Honor Society – Sarah Cook, King Gray, Amberlee Nix, Taylor Wells

M.T. Brewerton Award for History – Amberlee Nix

Excellence in Political Science Award in honor of Professor Rodney Grunes – Scott Halper

Dr. Leroy Vogel Memorial Award – Pierre Bida

Weems, Schimpf, Haines, Landry, Shemwell & Moore Pre-Law Award – Taylor Wells

Pi Sigma Alpha Honor Society – Pierre Bida, Maria Zabaneh


Virginia Carlton Mathematics Award – Dartagnan Bennett

John A. Hardin Award – Marcellus Lewis, Margeaux Smith


Shirley Hawn Outstanding Freshman – Corey Bowe

Ronald E. Dean Academic Achievement Award – Victoria Sundin

Frank Carroll Outstanding Junior Award – Sierra Worman

Outstanding Senior – Victoria Sundin


L. Hughes Cox Endowed Scholarship – Kiley Simpson


Outstanding Graduate in Psychology – William Morrison

Vroonland Psychology Award – Peyton Miller

Psi Chi Induction – Piper Beilke, Savanah Doty, Rachael Higginbotham, Regis Johnson, Blair McLaughlin, Reginald Porter


C. Wright Mills Award – Elena Ring

Dr. W. Ferrell Pledger Honor Award in Sociology – Amanda Farr

Student Research Conference Awards

Best Oral Presentation in the Humanities – Sarah Cook

Best Oral Presentation in the Natural Sciences – Amir Kaskas

Best Oral Presentation in the Social Sciences – William Morrison

Best Performance in Music – Victoria Sundin

Best Performance in Theatre – Cason Hancock, Charles Roppolo

Best Poster Presentation – Brenna Pearson

Best Trek Presentation – Dr. Chris Ciocchetti’s Trek 116

Best Visual Arts Presentation – Sabrina Handal



Centenary Activities Board (CAB)

CAB Member of the Year – Kristen Maddox, Reginald Porter

CAB Executive Committee Member of the Year – Audrey Gibson

Chaplain’s Office

John M. Warren Award – Shelby Pickett

Thomas A. Pitt Memorial Award – Taylor Abshire

Maroon Jackets

Joy Jeffers Award – Rebecca Dunn

Ray Williams Honorary Maroon Jacket Award – Elena Ring

Faculty/Staff Honorary Maroon Jacket – Dr. Becki Murphy

Maroon Jackets 2018-2019 – Tori Boyle, Madison Brogan, Emilee Byrd, Sarah Cook, Zackry Dick, Grace Dodd, Coco Edwards, Jada Faul, Laura Frazier, Serena Gallegos, Samantha Harrison, Cam Hewett, Jessi Jordan, Amir Kaskas, Gabrielle Lovemore, Dorothy Mims, Abigail Moody, Ari Murphy, Haley Parker, Gabe Rodriguez, Kiley Simpson, Soira Teferi, Max Wamsley, Brooke Williams, Kayla Willie

Department of Community Engagement

Morgan and Pledger Diversity Advocate Award – Cecilia Rodriguez

Dian Tooke Student Service Award – Brianna Walker

Omicron Delta Kappa – Michaela Brantley, Nilu Dhungel, Grace Dodd, Kaylee Lynn Dupree, Ole Edvard Granrud, Jason Joseph Holler, Emma Margaret Hymel, Abigail Moody, William Alexander Morrison, Haley Parker, Sarah Elisabeth Philyaw, Brooke Williams

Department of Intercultural Engagement

Grace Bareikis International Outreach Award – Sabrina Handal, William Morrison

Residence Life

Allan Todd Memorial Award for Outstanding Resident Assistant – Elena Ring

Student Government Association

SGA Bullet Award – Cami Chopin

SGA Pacesetters – Paul Ahluwalia, Piper Beilke, Zackry Dick, Grace Ann Doucet, Rebecca Dunn, Coco Edwards, Amanda Farr, Harrison Folse, Sabrina Handal, Regis Johnson, Ahmad Kasabali, Amir Kaskas, Peyton Miller, William Morrison, Reginald Porter, Summer Terrell

Faculty/Staff Pacesetters – Dr. Mark Leeper, Mark Miller

SGA Executive Committee 2019-2020:

            President – Amir Kaskas

            VP of Institutional Affairs – Payton Fowler

            VP of Campus Engagement – Piper Beilke

            VP of Finance – Coco Edwards

            VP of Publicity and Records – London Todd

SGA Senators 2019-2020:

Sophomores – Margot Frost, Daniel Hernandez, Emma Grace Lemoine, Divine Martin, Itzel Sigaran

Juniors – Taylor Abshire, Ali Ibrahim, Arianna Mitchell, Hunter Todd, Na’lani Zeno

Seniors – Betzabet Carmona, Zackry Dick, Madison Fremen, Serena Gallegos, Ari Murphy

Student Life

Outstanding Contributions to Student Life Award – Mimi Abo-Zahrah, Paul Ahluwalia, Cami Chopin, Grace Ann Doucet, Rebecca Dunn, Emmaline Dyer, Harrison Folse, Sabrina Handal, Peyton Miller, William Morrison, Cecilia Rodriguez, Liz Sander, A.J. Thomas, Brianna Walker

Student Spotlight Award – Rebecca Dunn

Teutsch-Riser Award for a Non-Traditional Student – Sarah Philyaw


Verba J. Schwab Memorial Endowed Leadership Award – Itzel Sigaran

Ellis H. Brown Leadership Award – Rebecca Dunn and William Morrison



Notice of Nondiscriminatory Policy The institution does not discriminate in its educational and employment policies against any person on the basis of gender, race, color, religion, age, disability, sexual orientation, national or ethnic origin, or on any other basis proscribed by federal, state, or local law.