THE LATEST: Stay updated on Centenary's COVID-19 response. Learn More.

Centenary students recognized at annual Honors Convocation

SHREVEPORT, LA — Centenary College recognized outstanding students during its annual Honors Convocation Thursday, April 14, in Brown Memorial Chapel. Honorees included recipients of academic department and campus awards as well as those named to honor societies.


Alpha Chi National Honor Society
Elizabeth Baker, Alexandra Britten, Manon Doucet, Ben Green, Luke Groninger, Jade Noble, Elizabeth Rambo, Michael Schimpf, Melissa Traver, Jessica Truong, Alysea Velasquez

AED Outstanding Contributions Award: Arash Ataei
Biology Department Award for Academic Excellence: Morgan Navalance

Chemistry Academic Award: Tierra Range
CRC Award in General Chemistry: Emma Hymel and Tavia Smith
Outstanding Achievement in Inorganic Chemistry: Dolores Ross
Outstanding Achievement in Organic Chemistry: Rebekah Frazier

Hallquist Elementary Education Award: Amber Lloyd
Vroonland Secondary Education Award: Joseph Kendrick

M. T. Brewerton Award for English: Reily Cook
Zeak Monroe Buckner Creative Writing Award: Reily Cook

Financial Aid
Mary Sue Rix Award: Hannah Bergeron and Stafford Lyons

Frost School of Business
Cecil E. Ramey, Jr. Frost School of Business Award: Paul Arcement
Top Business Major Award: Desiree Boyd
Top Economics Major Award: Michael Pullano
Woodrow W. Pate Economics Award: Joshua Carpenter and Kendall Demouchet

Austin Satin Award: Allison Scates
Estwing Award: Collin Baker

History and Political Science
Chris T. and Sue C. Barnette Memorial Award: Garrett Wick
Colonial Dames of America, Chapter 6 — Outstanding American History Student Award: Donovan Stone
Excellence in Political Science Award in honor of Professor Rodney Grunes: Joanna Warren
Katherine Slaikeu Nolan Historical Research Award: Michael Schimpf
M. T. Brewerton Award for History: Jamie Wright
Weems, Schimpf, Gilsoul, Haines & Carmouche Pre-Law Award: Donovan Stone
Dr. Leroy Vogel Memorial Award: Donovan Stone

John A. Hardin Award: Luke White
Minnie Hall Brown and Willey Bush Brown, Jr., Award: Graham Maxwell
Virginia Carlton Mathematics Award: Melissa Traver

Ronald E. Dean Academic Achievement Award: Lauren Benoit
Shirley Hawn Outstanding Freshman: D.J. Britten
Outstanding Senior: Rebecca Vacha

Natural Science
Poppy K. Moon Endowed Award: Allison Scates and Melissa Traver

Jeffrey Trahan Physics Award: Anuj Singh

Outstanding Graduate in Psychology: Sarah Irons
Vroonland Psychology Award: Celeste Kemmerly
Psi Chi Induction: Cameron Barney, Elizabeth Guerrant, Sarah Irons, Lindsey Long, Victor Robert, Stephanie Strickler, Michelle Tasin

Religious Studies
Dean R. E. Smith Religious Studies Award: Robin Chailland
Research Excellence Award: Jamie Wright

C. Wright Mills Award: Abbie Woods
Dr. W. Ferrell Pledger Honor Award in Sociology: Sarah Irons
Departmental Honors in Sociology: Sarah Irons


Athletic Achievement Award: Kaleb Kirk and Ashley White

Centenary Activities Board (CAB)
CAB Committee Head of the Year: Mykaila Stewart
CAB General Board Member of the Year: Caleb Gill

Chaplain's Office
Thomas A. Pitt Memorial Award: Robin Chailland and Kalie Hughes

Christian Leadership Center
Christian Leadership Center Seniors Award: Ian Naron
D. L. Dykes Founder Award for Excellence in Field Education: Elena Hibbs
James Sears Award for Outstanding Contribution to Christian Leadership Center Community: Logan Settoon

Office of Global Engagement
Grace Bareikis International Outreach Award: Hannah Bergeron
Morgan and Pledger Diversity Advocate Award: D.J. Hicks
Dian Tooke Student Service Award:Justin Cueto

Maroon Jackets
Faculty-Staff Honorary Maroon Jacket: Dr. Spencer Dew
Joy Jeffers Award:Dellanee Wade
Ray Williams Honorary Maroon Jacket Award:Garrett Wick
Maroon Jackets 2016-2017: Alex Britten, Simone Byrd, Joshua Carpenter, Annie Cohen, Kendall Demouchet, Manon Doucet, Carie Dupree, Shane Edmondson, Kayla Evans, Kaitlyn Frantz, Ben Green, Ayanna Griffin, Allie Hornsby, Kalie Hughes, Bailey Martin, Laura Perilloux, Grace Rambo, Victor Robert, Michael Schimpf, Donovan Stone, Juan Tapia, Melissa Traver, Brittany Wagner

Ellis H. Brown Leadership Award: Lauren Benoit and Steven Knight
Verba J. Schwab Memorial Endowed Leadership Award: Cecilia Rodriguez

Residence Life
Allan Todd Memorial Award: Tierra Range

Centenary Lady: Lauren Benoit
Centenary Gent: D.J. Hicks
Pacesetters: Arash Ataei, Lauren Benoit, Josh Carpenter, Katie Chopin, Manon Doucet, Carie Dupree, Ben Green, Ayanna Griffin, D.J. Hicks, Collin Hughes, Kalie Hughes, Hannah Kimbrough, Steven Knight, Erick Norem, Michael Pullano, Hannah Rachal, Cheredith Rhone, Donovan Stone, Melissa Traver, Dellanee Wade, Joanna Warren
SGA Bullet Award: Lauren Benoit

Student Life
Outstanding Contributions to Student Life: Lauren Benoit, MarvKevea Campbell, Raquel Candal, Robin Chailland, Katie Chopin, Calvin Davis, Abigail Dillard, Ryan Flanagan, D.J. Hicks, Sarah Irons, Steven Knight, Erick Norem, Michael Pullano, Tierra Range, Sadie Wallace, Joanna Warren, Jamie Wright
Teutsch-Riser Award for a Non-Traditional Student: Luke and Cherie Groninger

Notice of Nondiscriminatory Policy As To Students The insitution does not discriminate in its educational and employment policies against any person on the basis of gender, race, color, religion, age, disability, sexual orientation, national or ethnic origin, or on any other basis proscribed by federal, state, or local law.