The Centenary College Diversity Committee is composed of 15 members appointed by the president of the College. The Committee articulates a working definition of diversity for the College and develops and implements an ongoing plan that promotes a culture for valuing diversity on campus. Specifically, this plan should recommend strategies to:

  • increase recruitment and retention of diverse faculty, staff, and students;
  • provide ongoing diversity training for campus leaders, including administration, faculty, staff, and students;
  • broaden Centenary's involvement with our diverse local community and region;
  • handle diversity-related disputes or issues on campus;
  • improve campus programs and policies regarding diversity, where appropriate.

The committee produces an annual report including an explicit statement of goals, procedures, and progress.

2017-2018 Members
Faculty Member Mr. Don Hooper, Chair
Faculty Member Dr. Andia Augustin-Billy
Faculty Member Dr. Ross Smith
Faculty Member Dr. Chandra Pokhrel
Staff (exempt) TBA
Staff (non-exempt) Ms. Heather Boucher
Staff (underrepresented group) Ms. Monica Powell
Student (President, Minority Student Association) TBA
Student (President or designee, SGA) Ms. Halen Sumner 
Student (at large) Mr. Taha Hayat
Director of Human Resources, ex-officio Ms. Edie Cummings
Dean of Students (or designee), ex-officio Mr. Mark Miller
Provost Designee, ex-officio Mr. Chris Brown

Report an incident

If you, or someone you know, has experienced or observed incidents of intolerance, hate speech, or bias based on any category of diversity that you or they may represent including but not limited to gender, race, religious beliefs, sexual orientation, or gender expression, please report it using the form below.

Contact Info

Mr. Don Hooper

Faculty Diversity Chair

2911 Centenary Boulevard, Shreveport, LA 71104