Centenary leadership society inducts new members

SHREVEPORT, LA — Centenary’s Beta Pi chapter of the Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) Honor Society inducted new members at a ceremony in the College’s Brown Chapel on Thursday, November 5.

ODK, one of the most prestigious honor societies in America, was founded at Washington and Lee University on December 3, 1914. Since that time, the national leadership society has continued to bring together leaders from all parts of the college or university to cooperate in worthwhile endeavors for the good of the campus and community. ODK is the oldest cross-disciplined leadership honorary fraternity that evaluates student service through areas other than academics. There are more than 300 ODK chapters, called circles, across the United States, and last fall the ODK national office congratulated Centenary’s Beta Pi circle on its 70th anniversary.

Juniors and seniors with GPAs in the top 35% of their respective classes are eligible to apply for selection into ODK. Members work together to uphold the society’s ideals of scholarship, service, integrity, character, and fellowship.

Members of the Fall 2020 inductee class include:

Abbie Boudreaux

Lily Ann Easley

Lauren Lessenberry

Madison Mascagni

Taighlor McCallister

Mekenzie Peshoff

Itzel Sigaran

Sarah Thompson

Aeron Tisdale

London Todd

Maria Zabaneh

“The Beta Pi Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa at Centenary College founded is honored to induct our new initiates,” says Dr. Helen Sikes, professor of accounting and finance and faculty advisor for ODK. “They exemplify the spirit of Omicron Delta Kappa Leadership across all areas of campus life:  academics, athletics, the arts, student government and student organizations. Their membership in the Beta Pi Circle adds value to one of the five oldest circles in the ODK organization and we look forward to the Centenary Circle's contribution to campus life through their activities.”

The Beta Pi circle also installed new officers for 2021 at the ceremony: Itzel Sigaran, president; Lily Ann Easley, vice president; and Madison Mascagni, secretary. Kennedy Wilcher recently completed her service as president for 2020.

A photo gallery from the induction ceremony is available on centenary.edu.


Notice of Nondiscriminatory Policy The institution does not discriminate in its educational and employment policies against any person on the basis of gender, race, color, religion, age, disability, sexual orientation, national or ethnic origin, or on any other basis proscribed by federal, state, or local law.