Centenary presents awards during annual Honors Convocation

SHREVEPORT, LA — Centenary College’s annual Honors Convocation recognizes students for achievements in academics and campus leadership and serves as one of the capstones for the academic year. This year’s convocation was held in Brown Chapel on Friday, May 5, kicking off the College’s commencement weekend for the Class of 2023.

Centenary faculty and staff recognized the honorees, including recipients of academic department and campus awards as well as those inducted into honor societies. Full descriptions of the awards and a program from the event are available at centenary.edu/honorsconvocation.


Alpha Chi National Honor Society
Kaleb Atkinson
Haley Bordelon
Tuyen Chau
Jo Hoffman
Emerson Horne
Tarif Islam
Mackenzie Newlan
Aiden Peterkin
Riana Seidenberg
Madeline Vacula
Mackenzie Williams

Art and Visual Culture
Nellie Lyons Studio Art Award – Emma Foster

AED Outstanding Contributions Award – Rose Deshler
Biology Department Award for Academic Excellence – Rose Deshler

General Chemistry Achievement Award – Kaleb Atkinson
Outstanding Achievement in Inorganic Chemistry – Cassie Halford
Outstanding Achievement in Organic Chemistry – Maddie Vacula
Senior Chemistry Academic Award – Bryn Jenkins, Payton Lii

Hallquist Elementary Education Award – Lyle Alford
Vroonland Secondary Education Award – Ashley Tyler

M.T. Brewerton Award for English – Phoebe Cragon
Zeak Monroe Buckner Creative Writing Award – Emily Moreno
Audrey M. Smith Poetry Award – Phoebe Cragon, Jerney Harms
P.B. Lindsey Memorial Award for the Outstanding Freshman in Creative Writing – Jude Williams
Thomas E. Horton & Stephen Victory Scholarship – Dani Kimmey

Foreign Languages Department
Prix Afred Mercier – Athena Vasquez
Prix Diego Morphy – Corey Bowe
Prix Jean Arceneaux – Phoebe Cragon
Prix Louisa Lamotte – Lilli Breaux, Zuri Jenkins
Le Prix Tintamarre – Corey Bowe, Lilli Breaux, Sierra Charles, Phoebe Cragon, Zuri Jenkins
Pi Delta Phi French Honor Society – Corey Bowe, Kevin Brown, Jaspen Charles, Emma Greer, Coby Harris, Reece Maguire, Anna Storms, Athena Vasquez

Frost School of Business
Cecil E. Ramey, Jr. Frost School of Business Award – Ian Givens
Top Accounting Major Award – Kendall Huff
Top Business Major Award – Trevor Henry, Devan Martin
Top Economics Major Award – Payton Lii
Woodrow W. Pate Economics Award – Hoodie Collier
Sigma Beta Delta Honor Society – Mackenzie Cox, Christopher Lee Dant, Isabella Morgan Giglio, Trevor DeWitt Henry, Theresa Faye Johnson

History and Political Science
Colonial Dames of America, Chapter 6: Outstanding American History Student Award – Collier Cloinger
Chris T. and Sue C. Barnette Memorial Award – Sami Borchalli
M.T. Brewerton Award for History – Christine Goodman
Excellence in Political Science Award in honor of Professor Rodney Grunes – Renee Katz
Dr. Leroy Vogel Memorial Award – Remi Miller, Caleb Smith
Katherine Slaikeu Nolan Historical Research Award – Markiese Boykin
Weems, Schimpf, Haines, Landry, Shemwell & Moore Pre-Law Award – Visar Rraci
Pi Sigma Alpha Honor Society – Visar Rraci, Lauren Warren
Phi Alpha Theta Honor Society – Emilie Adams, Tuyen Chau, Collier Cloinger

Virginia Carlton Mathematics Award – Macy Smith, Felix Kraus
Minnie Hall Brown and Willey Bush Brown, Jr. Award – Dylan Allred

Shirley Hawn Outstanding Freshman Award – Destry Martignetti
Ronald E. Dean Academic Achievement Award – Anna DiMaggio
Frank Carroll Award – Seth Hooker, Audrey Ree Randolph
Outstanding Senior Award – Corey Bowe

Natural Sciences
Poppy K. Moon Endowed Award – Bryn Jenkins

L. Hughes Cox Endowed Scholarship – Anna DiMaggio

Vroonland Psychology Award – Kennedy Stephens
Psi Chi Honor Society – Coleman Guidry, Mackenzie Olinger, Viviana Rivero, Madison Schonberg, Mackenzie Williams



Best in Visual Arts - Jan Gary for "Mori"

Best Oral Presentation in the Humanities - Visar Rraci for “The United States and the Independence of Kosovo: Examining US Foreign Policy, Diplomacy, and Military Intervention in the late 20th Century”

Best Oral Presentation in the Natural Sciences - Bryn Jenkins for “Evaluating Self-Masked Aldehydes for Free Aldehyde Content”

Best Oral Presentation in the Social Sciences - Remi Miller for “Effects of Changes in Gun Control Policy on the Frequency and Severity of Mass Shootings" and Lauren Warren for “Gender and Governing Bodies: The Intersection of Legal Precedents and Sociological Processes”

Best Poster Presentation - Anna DiMaggio for “The Evolution of a Common Man" and Alireza Moosavi Behbahani for “Computational methods for development of arbidol as a fusion inhibitor of the novel coronavirus”

Honorable Mention for Best Poster Presentation - Tarif Islam, Alireza Moosavi Behbahani, and Jonathan Okereke for “Phenolic Compound Production from Pathogen-Induced Plant Communication” and Michael Smith for "Calibrating Milikan's Oil Drop Apparatus"


Chaplain’s Office
John M. Warren Award – Monica Percino
Thomas A. Pitt Memorial Award – Anna DiMaggio

Christian Leadership Center
Christian Leadership Center Seniors Award – George Heydens, Kaitlyn Moton
D.L. Dykes Founder Award for Excellence in Field Education – Coby Harris
James Sears Award for Outstanding Contribution to CLC – Riana Seidenberg

Department of Community Engagement
Dian Tooke Student Service Award – Jessica Cordova

Integrated Advising
Integrated Advising Peer Mentor Award – Jazmine Carroll, Mary Caruthers, Coby Harris, Tori Ligman, Vernesha Martin, Mackenzie Newlan

Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Morgan and Pledger Diversity Advocate Award – Markiese Boykin, Zuri Jenkins

Residence Life
Allan Todd Memorial Award for Outstanding Resident Assistant – Rachael Ayres

SGA Bullet Award – Andrea Kay
SGA Pacesetters – Markiese Boykin, Joel Cardenas-Lopez, Tuyen Chau, Rose Deshler, Jordan Fong, Mack Grant, Channing Hall, Caymen Hawkins, Camryn Hebert, Bryn Jenkins, Zuri Jenkins, Andrea Kay, Audrey Laper, Tori Ligman, CJ McCulloch, Stan Melton, Gracie Napier, Jonathan Okereke
Pacesetters Spotlight Award – Camryn Hebert
Faculty/Staff Pacesetters – Scott Chirhart, Chrissy Martin
SGA Executive Committee 2023-2024:

  • President – Andrew Turner
  • VP of Institutional Affairs – Caymen Hawkins
  • VP of Campus Engagement – Andrea Kay
  • VP of Finance – Tarif Islam
  • VP of Publicity and Records – Jordan Danzell

SGA Senators 2023-2024:

  • Sophomores – Tuyen Chau, Abigail Rinaudo, Sophie Vidrine
  • Juniors – Avery Cauley, Emma Greer, Ethan Manwaring
  • Seniors – Anacelia Galeano-Balam, Victoria Ligman, Stanley Melton, Emily Napier, Zachery Van Gorkom

Ray Williams Honorary Maroon Jacket Award – Zuri Jenkins
Faculty/Staff Honorary Maroon Jacket – Jarret Richardson
Joy Jeffers Award – Camryn Hebert
Maroon Jackets 2023-2024 – Haley Bordelon, Joel Cardenas-Lopez, Jordan Danzell, Jordan Fong, Regan Griffin, Caymen Hawkins, Tori Ligman, Eva M. Vega, Stanley Melton, Gracie Napier, Mackenzie Newlan, Aiden Peterkin, Siobahn Stanley, Caroline Swoboda, Maddie Vacula, Mackenzie Williams

Outstanding Contributions to Student Life – Carson Alvarez, Markiese Boykin, Kyle Comi, Anna DiMaggio, Ian Givens, Camryn Hebert, Zuri Jenkins, Divine Martin, CJ McCulloch, Remi Miller, Jonathan Okereke, Caleb Smith


Financial Aid
Mary Sue Rix Award – Jazzmyn Jones
Class of 1964 50th Anniversary Award – James Harris

David and Jodi Rowe Presidential Leadership Award – Sierra Charles

Verba J. Schwab Memorial Endowed Leadership Award – Mackenzie (Mack) Grant
Ellis H. Brown Leadership Award – Zuri Jenkins and Jonathan Okereke


Notice of Nondiscriminatory Policy The institution does not discriminate in its educational and employment policies against any person on the basis of gender, race, color, religion, age, disability, sexual orientation, national or ethnic origin, or on any other basis proscribed by federal, state, or local law.