Centenary recognizes students at annual spring Honors Convocation

Dr. Gale Odom and Dr. Cory Wikan congratulate the winners of the 2018 music awards at the Honors Convocation.

SHREVEPORT, LA — Centenary College recognized students for achievements in academics and campus leadership at its annual spring Honors Convocation held Thursday, April 19 in the College’s Brown Memorial Chapel. Honorees included recipients of academic department and campus awards as well as those inducted into honor societies.




Alpha Chi National Honor Society

Jaspreet Ahluwalia, Gage Dabin, Harrison Folse, Ole Edvard Granrud, Tavia Smith



AED Outstanding Contributions Award – Danielle Adams

Biology Department Award for Academic Excellence – Jeffrey Scott



CRC Award in General Chemistry – Lauren Lessenberry

Outstanding Achievement in Organic Chemistry – Abigail Moody

Senior Chemistry Award – Nakoma Walker


Christian Leadership Center

Christian Leadership Center Seniors Award – Cara Armstrong and Gabriella Curtis

D.L. Dykes Founder Award for Excellence in Field Education – Kayla Willie

James Sears Award for Outstanding Contribution to CLC – Alexander Shannon



Hallquist Elementary Education Award – Lauren Benoit

Vroonland Secondary Education Award – Justin McDearmont



Audrey M. Smith Poetry Award – Colleen Durnin

M.T. Brewerton Award for English – Gage Dabin

Thomas E. Horton & Stephen Victory Scholarship – Danny Paulk

Zeak Monroe Buckner Creative Writing Award – Brian Flynn


Financial Aid

Mary Sue Rix Award – Nakoma Walker


Frost School of Business

Top Business Major Award – Ian Graham

Top Economics Major Award – Kayla Laws

Cecil E. Ramey, Jr. Frost School of Business Award – Kaleb Behm

Woodrow W. Pate Economics Award – Makayla Maxwell-Stallcup

Top Student in Accounting Award – Nicholas Sacco

Sigma Beta Delta – Dennis Britten, Jr., Caitlyn Faulhaber, Jason Holler, Cecilia Rodriguez



Austin Sartin Award – Jordan St. Pierre

Estwing Award – Kaleb Kirk


History and Political Science

Colonial Dames of America, Chapter 6: Outstanding American History Student Award – Jessi Jordan and Taylor Wells

Katherine Slaikeu Nolan Historical Research Award – Amanda Willis

Phi Alpha Theta Honor Society – Jessi Jordan, Connor Harwood

M.T. Brewerton Award for History – Amanda Willis

Excellence in Political Science Award in honor of Professor Rodney Grunes – Connor Harwood

Dr. Leroy Vogel Memorial Award – Gage Dabin



Virginia Carlton Mathematics Award – Margeaux Smith

Minnie Hall Brown and Willey Bush Brown, Jr. Award – Marcellus Lewis

John A. Hardin Award – Alexander Shannon



Shirley Hawn Outstanding Freshman – Andrew Echols and Brennen Templeton

Ronald E. Dean Academic Achievement Award – Alexander Shannon

Frank Carroll Outstanding Junior Award – Victoria Sundin

Outstanding Senior – Kieley Simonsen


Natural Science

Poppy K. Moon Endowed Award – Rebecca Dunn



L. Hughes Cox Endowed Scholarship – Regis Johnson



Outstanding Graduate in Psychology – Laura Hirsch

Vroonland Psychology Award – Ethan Hyatt

Psi Chi Induction – Michaela Brantley, Kaylee Dupree, Serena Gallegos, Elena Ring



C. Wright Mills Award – Chris Zapata




Centenary Activities Board (CAB)

CAB Member of the Year – Lindsey Dettwiller

CAB Committee Head of the Year – Ellen Atkinson


Chaplain’s Office

John M. Warren Award – Catherine LeBlanc


Maroon Jackets

Joy Jeffers Award – Halen Sumner

Ray Williams Honorary Maroon Jacket Award – Brianna Jackson

Faculty/Staff Honorary Maroon Jacket – Dr. Kathrine Weeks

Maroon Jackets 2018-2019 – Paul Ahluwalia, Kyle Barron, Cami Chopin, Savanah Doty, Grace Doucet, Rebecca Dunn, Harrison Folse, Wendy Gillet, Madison Guell, Sabrina Handal, Emma Hymel, Fatima Iqbal, Ahmad Kasabali, Makayla Maxwell-Stallcup, William McLean, Peyton Miller, William Morrison, Shyann Pisano, Katie Rusley, Elizabeth Sander, Victoria Sundin, Alfred Thomas IV


Office of Student and Global Engagement

Morgan and Pledger Diversity Advocate Award – Jessica Truong

Grace Bareikis International Outreach Award – Shatavia Fullwood

Dian Tooke Student Service Award – Shatavia Fullwood



Verba J. Schwab Memorial Endowed Leadership Award – Hunter Todd

Ellis H. Brown Leadership Award – Gage Dabin and Halen Sumner


Residence Life

Allan Todd Memorial Award for Outstanding Resident Assistant – Connor Harwood


Student Government Association

Centenary Lady and Gent – Halen Sumner and Ian Naron

SGA Bullet Award – Collin Hughes

SGA Pacesetters – Paul Ahluwalia, Cami Chopin, Caroline Dopson, Emily Duet, Rebecca Dunn, Emmaline Dyer, Harrison Folse, Payton Fowler, Sabrina Handal, Emma Hymel, Amir Kaskas, Catherine LeBlanc, Ian Naron, Reginald Porter, Halen Sumner, A.J. Thomas

Faculty/Staff Pacesetters – Scott Chirhart, Mark Miller, Kathrine Weeks

SGA Recognition

Rising Sophomores – Taylor Abshire, Piper Beilke, Arianna Mitchell, Reginald Porter III, Chris Stevens

Rising Juniors – Joshua David, William Z. Dick, Cameron Hewett, Anastasia Murphy, Hallie Roden

Rising Seniors – Cami Chopin, Amanda Farr, Catherine LeBlanc, Peyton Miller, Summer Terrell


Student Life

Outstanding Contributions to Student Life Award – Kaleb Behm, Toby Crouch, Gage Dabin, Emily Duet, Rebekah Frazier, Shatavia Fullwood, Connor Harwood, Ramanda James, Andrew Koepnick, Anthony McDonald, Ian Naron, Alexander Shannon, Halen Sumner, Jessica Truong


Notice of Nondiscriminatory Policy The institution does not discriminate in its educational and employment policies against any person on the basis of gender, race, color, religion, age, disability, sexual orientation, national or ethnic origin, or on any other basis proscribed by federal, state, or local law.