THE LATEST: Stay updated on Centenary's COVID-19 response. Learn More.

2021-2022 Members

Faculty Member
Dr. Jessica Alexander

Faculty Member
Dr. Jarret Richardson

Member, Non-Scientist
Dr. Barbara Davis

External Member
Maria Edwards, Captain Shreve High School

Assistant Provost for Institutional Research and Planning
Dr. Katherine Bearden

Centenary College IRB Human Subjects Research Review Process


The IRB shall be comprised of five members with diverse backgrounds, each appointed by the Provost. These shall include:

  • Three faculty members.
  • At least one member not affiliated with a scientific discipline.
  • At least one member unaffiliated with Centenary College.
  • Representation of persons whose primary concern is the protection of "vulnerable" subjects, such as children or institutionalized persons.


The IRB shall normally meet with a majority of members present, and a majority vote shall be required for decisions. Exclusions from this rule are only permissible under expedited procedures and exemptions for low risk research, as specifically allowed under HHS Guidelines. Members with conflicts of interest in a particular research project shall be excluded from all decisions related to that research.

Notice of Nondiscriminatory Policy As To Students The institution does not discriminate in its educational and employment policies against any person on the basis of gender, race, color, religion, age, disability, sexual orientation, national or ethnic origin, or on any other basis proscribed by federal, state, or local law.