30th Annual Centenary College Academic Research Conference

Thursday, April 21, 2022

Each year Centenary students and faculty present their best works of exploration and invention at our annual Research Conference. A community event for over 30 years, the Research Conference is modeled on long-standing academic traditions of conference-based information sharing and feedback.

The 2022 Research Conference is sponsored by the Douglas F. and Marion S. Attaway Foundation, and is made possible with the support of Centenary’s Convocation Committee, the Office of the Provost, Campus Activities Board, and the Student Government Association.

This year’s Research Conference was organized by Dr. Scott Chirhart (Biology), Dr. Jeanne Hamming (English), Dr. Cory Wikan (Music), and Dr. Jessica Alexander (Psychology). Special thanks to Jeremy Johnson for his graphic design skills, Candace Metoyer for her web skills, and to Connie Whittington for her unwavering support of our students.

Generous thanks to our judges:

  • Trek Presentations: Valerie Breashears, Devin Bureau, Sarah McCall, Patrick Morgan
  • Poster Presentations: Jeffery Evans, Joshua Lawrence, Jarret Richardson
  • Humanities Oral Presentations: Michelle Glaros and Edward Ragan
  • Social Science Oral Presentations: Amy Friesenhahn and Amy Hammond
  • Natural Science Oral Presentations: David Bieler, Skippy Jennings, Kathrine Weeks
  • Visual Arts: Emily Hamann and Shannon Palmer
  • Creative Writing: Jeff Hendricks, Bellee Jones-Pierce, Emily Leithauser, Alan Lenhoff, and Margaret Sanders

Winners from this year’s Research Conference will be presented with awards at the Annual Honors Convocation, Friday, May 6 at 5:15pm in the Gold Dome.

Masks and social-distancing (whenever possible) will be required at this year’s research conference. Please respect the health and safety of others during this wonderful event.



Quick View Schedule

See full schedule including presentation titles, descriptions, and presenters.

8:00 AM -11:00 AM: Trek 116 Presentations
A. Professors Hamming and Chakraborty (Mickle 114)
B. Professors Ciocchetti, Hicks, and Demerath (Kilpatrick)
C. Professors Hawkins, Jones-Pierce, and Laffey (Whited)
D. Professors Leithauser and Sanders (Hurley 201)

8:00 AM - 9:00 AM SESSION 1
1A. Posters (Mickle 2nd floor)
1B. Humanities (Centenary Room)
1C. Social Sciences (Jackson 304)

9:15 AM - 10:15 AM SESSION 2
2A. Posters (Mickle 2nd floor)
2B. Humanities (Centenary Room)
2C. Social Sciences (Jackson 304)

10:30 AM - 11:30 AM SESSION 3
3A. Posters (Mickle 2nd floor)
3B. Humanities (Centenary Room)
3C. Social Sciences (Jackson 304)
3D. Social Sciences (Mickle 114)

12:30 PM - 1:30 PM SESSION 4
4A. Posters (Mickle 2nd floor)
4B. Humanities (Whited)
4C. Social Sciences (Kilpatrick)

1:45 PM - 2:45 PM SESSION 5
5A. Natural Sciences (Mickle 114)
5B. Humanities (Whited)
5C. Social Sciences (Kilpatrick)

3:00 PM - 4:00 PM SESSION 6
6A. Natural Sciences (Mickle 114)
6B. Humanities (Whited)
6C. Social Sciences (Kilpatrick)

4:15 PM - 5:30 PM SESSION 7
7A. Creative Writing and Visual Arts (Whited)
7B. Social Sciences (Kilpatrick)


Notice of Nondiscriminatory Policy The institution does not discriminate in its educational and employment policies against any person on the basis of gender, race, color, religion, age, disability, sexual orientation, national or ethnic origin, or on any other basis proscribed by federal, state, or local law.