2018-2019 Members

Faculty, At-Large
Dr. Chad Fulwider, Chair

Faculty-Humanities Division Chair
Dr. Michelle Glaros

Faculty-Natural Sciences Division Chair
Dr. Scott Vetter

Faculty-Social Sciences Division Chair
Dr. Michelle Wolkomir

Provost, ex-officio
Dr. Jenifer K. Ward

Purposes and Responsibilities

The Faculty Coordinating Council is the major coordinating body of the faculty and its committee system. It is the administrative body of the faculty. It also carries on an active dialogue with the Planning and Policy Advisory Council concerning the academic operation of the College.

The Faculty Coordinating Council is charged with assisting in the preparation of the agenda for faculty meetings and carrying out that agenda. In doing this, it is not to review or pass judgment on the material brought to the faculty meeting for consideration but to deliver it to the faculty in the most efficient manner. The Office of the Provost will assist in carrying out this function. If no agenda items are submitted for a given faculty meeting, the Faculty Coordinating Council may choose to cancel the meeting.

The Faculty Coordinating Council will encourage and facilitate communication among faculty committees. The Council will interact with the chairs of the Academic Policy Council, Faculty Personnel Council, Enrollment Policy Committee and Economic Policy Committee on a regular basis throughout the academic year. The Faculty Coordinating Council will also collect and make available the minutes from committees of the faculty. In this regard it will attempt to coordinate the activities of any committees working on similar matters. The FCC will maintain a website of the minutes and other pertinent documents issued by the standing committees of the faculty. (4/2004) In addition, the Faculty Coordinating Council will proofread the minutes of each faculty meeting prior to their submission to the faculty at large. (12/2003)

Each year the Faculty Coordinating Council will recommend to the President the names of faculty members to serve as the non-elected members of the committee system of the College. The Faculty Coordinating Council will serve as a nominating committee for delegates to the Conference of Louisiana Colleges and Universities. The Council is charged with carrying out all elections in an efficient, timely, and open manner. As needed, the Faculty Coordinating Council will revise the faculty handbook. This will be done with the approval of the faculty.

Annually the division chairs and the at-large chair shall organize and coordinate input from the faculty regarding the College's administrative officers. This information shall be forwarded to the President.

Finally, the Faculty Coordinating Council, when directed by a majority vote of the faculty, shall act as the official voice of the faculty. When it is necessary that the wishes and desires of the faculty, as a group, be made known to the administration of the College or an outside agency, the Faculty Coordinating Council under the direction of the faculty shall represent the faculty.


The Faculty Coordinating Council consists of an at-large chair elected by the faculty from among the tenured faculty for a two-year term, the three divisional chairs, who must be tenured members of the faculty and are elected by each division individually, and the Provost, (ex officio and without vote). The chair of the Faculty Coordinating Council will be the first faculty officer elected each odd-numbered year. This election shall take place every other April with the term of service beginning the weekday before the start of classes the following fall. The chair of the Faculty Coordinating Council shall serve as one of the two faculty representatives to the Board of Trustees. The chair of the Faculty Coordinating Council will not be allowed to serve more than two terms in any six-year period.


Last updated 27 August 2018