2024-2025 Members

Faculty, Humanities Division
Dr. Kyra Rietveld

Faculty, Humanities Division
Dr. James Eakin

Faculty, Natural Sciences Division
Dr. Joshua Lawrence

Faculty, Natural Sciences Division
Dr. David Kordahl

Faculty, Social Sciences Division
Dr. Jama Grove (Fall)/Dr. Pete Zunick (Spring)

Faculty, Social Sciences Division
Dr. Mohammad Ali

VP for Academic Affairs/Provost (ex officio)
Dr. Karen Soul

Registrar (ex officio)
Dr. Lalita Rogers


Purpose and Responsibilities

On behalf of the faculty, and subject to its authority, the Academic Policy Committee initiates and recommends to the faculty policies concerning the undergraduate academic programs of the College (except the Trek program which is managed by the Trek Committee). Such policies include those involving curriculum, degree requirements, academic regulations and standards, student classification and class standing, student course load, honors in majors, new programs or degrees, first-year experience, summer school, distance learning, articulation agreements, and all other academic matters that are the responsibility of the faculty. The APC is also charged with reviewing and proposing changes to the College’s general education program, after broad consultation with the faculty. In addition, the Council reviews and approves program-specific changes (except Trek-related changes which are managed by the Trek Committee), such as new course proposals, Catalogue language changes, individualized major proposals, and special topics courses. The Committee shall report all of its actions promptly to the faculty-at-large, normally through its minutes and reports at faculty meetings.



The Committee is composed of six faculty members (two elected by each division from different departments), one student, the Vice President for Academic Affairs/Provost (ex officio and without vote) and Registrar (ex officio and without vote). The six faculty members are elected for staggered three-year terms (see Voting Procedures). The student member is recommended by the SGA for a one-year appointment with possibility of renewal. The Committee chair will be elected from the faculty members of the Committee. See Voting Procedures for additional guidelines.

Notice of Nondiscriminatory Policy The institution does not discriminate in its educational and employment policies against any person on the basis of gender, race, color, religion, age, disability, sexual orientation, national or ethnic origin, or on any other basis proscribed by federal, state, or local law.