Cox Scholarship Overview

The L. Hughes Cox Endowed Scholarship Fund honors Dr. L. Hughes Cox, Centenary professor of philosophy from 1967 to 2000. To qualify, students must meet the following criteria:

  • The student has declared a major or minor in philosophy.
  • The chosen student has maintained a 2.5 cumulative GPA and a 3.0 average in his or her philosophy courses.
  • The student must show promise in the study of philosophy as determined by the Philosophy Department.
  • The student has not received previous scholarships which will cover his or her full tuition costs.
  • The scholarship will be awarded to a student above the first-year level.

Winners of the Cox Scholarship

  • 2022-2023 Anna DiMaggio
  • 2021-2022 Itzel Sigaran
  • 2020-2021 Mekenzie Peshoff
  • 2019-2020 Anjuni Singh
  • 2018-2019 Kiley Simpson
  • 2017-2018 Regis Johnson
  • 2016-2017 Cecilia Rodriguez 
  • 2013-2014 Greg Ewing
  • 2012-2013 Michael Naquin
  • 2011-2012 Scott Oliver Myers
  • 2010-2011 Jacquelyn Batson
  • 2008-2009 A.J. Scamp
  • 2008-2009 Lacey Anderson
  • 2007-2008 Jason Blilie
  • 2006-2007 Christopher DeGuerce
  • 2005-2006 Devin Rourke
  • 2004-2005 Greg Hogan
  • 2003-2004 Alex Lu


Bryant Davidson Memorial Scholarship

The Bryant Davidson Memorial Scholarship recognizes a philosophy student who shows promise in the study of philosophy. Usually given to a student early in her career at Centenary, this scholarship encourages her to develop her talents and use them to address the questions of philosophy. 


Winner of the Bryant Davidson Memorial Scholarship

  • 2022-2023 Ian Givens
  • 2021-2022 Anna DiMaggio
  • 2020-2021 Itzel Sigaran
  • 2019-2020 Mekenzie Peshoff 
  • 2018-2019 Anjuni Singh 
  • 2017-2018 Kiley Simpson
  • 2016-2017 Regis Johnson
Notice of Nondiscriminatory Policy The institution does not discriminate in its educational and employment policies against any person on the basis of gender, race, color, religion, age, disability, sexual orientation, national or ethnic origin, or on any other basis proscribed by federal, state, or local law.